Ask Experts » Education » India Educational Consultants »

What are the differences between an university and a central university?

Date: 18 Apr 2016    Group: Education    Category: India Educational Consultants   

There are many universities in India, some of which are described as central universities. What are the main similarities and differences between an university and a central university? Also what are the main similarities and differences between a private university and a public university?
Experts: do respond.

Want to know more about central university? Find responses from experts on this page here.

Author: Farheen Khan    19 Apr 2016      Member Level: Gold     Points : 8  (Rs 8)    Voting Score: 0

A central university is one that has been established by an Act of Parliament and the President of India is visitor of these universities and he/she recommends the name of the person appointed as the vice chancellor of these universities. They are funded by UGC. There are currently 20 central universities in India.
Looking from the perspective of a student, a central university is usually tougher to get into (high competition), has much lower tuition and other fees and the courses are more prestigious than other those of other universities.

Other than central universities we have State universities, deemed universities and private universities. State universities come under the state government though they also require recognition by UGC.

Both central and state universities are public universities as they are run by the government.

Deemed Universities are those institutes that have been granted a status of autonomy by the recommendation of UGC because of the high standard of work carried out there. They may not necessarily be like traditional universities. For ex. some research institutions also have the status of deemed university.

Private universities are those that have not been established by the government but have received the recognition from UGC to be called a university. They usually don't receive funding from the government as a whole, though some departments may receive funding for their individual projects if they apply for it.

Author: Timmappa Kamat    20 Apr 2016      Member Level: Gold     Points : 8  (Rs 8)    Voting Score: 0

A central university is the one that has been established by an act of Parliament. These universities are funded by UGC- the University Grants Commission. There are 20 central universities in India, prominent among them being Delhi University, Jawaharlal Nehru University and Aligarh Muslim University. All the central universities are managed by UGC except Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU) and Central Agricultural University which are managed and funded by Ministry of Human Resource Development and Ministry of Agriculture respectively.

The State universities are established by an act of the concerned state legislature. There are around 215 state universities. These are funded by the respective state governments.

There are another two types of universities labelled Deemed Universities and Private Universities.
An educational institute that has provisions for high calibre education, but is not an university in actuality is recognised for the level of education it provides. Thus such institutes are "deemed" fit to be universities and thus are named as Deemed Universities. Being allocated the deemed university status provides autonomy to the universities in designing the curriculum, course and syllabus. They can also set their own guidelines for admissions and fees. Indian Institute of Science in Bengaluru, Symbiosis International Educational Centre in Pune and Manipal Academy of Higher Education are some important deemed universities.
A private university is the centre of higher education that has been set up through a central or state act in the same way as the central or state universities, but managed by a private management. Private universities need to bae accredited by UGC for their degrees to be considered valid. Birla Institute of Technology and Science (BITS, Pilani) is a prime example of Private university.

Author: Pawan Kumar    21 Apr 2016      Member Level: Silver     Points : 3  (Rs 3)    Voting Score: 0

University is an institution of high level educational institution which grants academic degrees in various subjects.
Universities are classified into four types
1. Private University
2. Deemed University
3. State University
4. Central University

1. Private university : They are privately funded institutions. They are set up under norms of human resources department. They are recognised by UGC.
2. Deemed University : It is status for university. This status granted by Ministry of human resources department on advisory of UGC.
3. State University : They are funded and controlled by state government. They are set up or recognised by an act of the state legislature.
4. Central University : Central university is funded and controlled by central government. They are set up by an act of parliament.

Author: Mahesh    21 Apr 2016      Member Level: Gold     Points : 2  (Rs 2)    Voting Score: 0

As explained earlier UGC has different level of university in hierarchy. So the governing model and the rules are different for each one of them. For example, UGC controls following universities.

1. State
2. Private
3. Deemed
4. Central

Each university has different level of affiliation and credentials. So the rules and the employment in each one of them is different. So you have to understand the hierarchy of that works. State and central university are more closer and have more UGC funding compared to deemed and private. In such case the government grants and the scholarship also varies based on the types of university is formed.

Post Answer

You must Sign In to post a response.

Post Answer        

Related Questions
  • Return to Question Index
  • Ask Question to Experts

  • Awards & Gifts
    Top Contributors
    TodayLast 7 Daysmore...

    ISC Technologies, Kochi - India. © All Rights Reserved.