You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Cricket

    Why stump out is wicket for bowler, then why run out is not wicket to bowler?


    What is the difference between stump out and run out? Confused in between why an out is perceived differently for stump outs and run outs in cricket?

    Why stump out is wicket for bowler, then why run out is not wicket to bowler? In both cases, Batsman should be in crease.
  • #139862
    There is a difference between stumps out and run out. In stump out, the ball is directly collected by the wicket keeper without hitting the bat and the wicketkeeper used it to dislodge the stumps.
    But in run out, the batsman hitting the ball somewhere and the fielder collecting the ball and run out the batsman.
    In simple words, stump out will happen mainly by the brilliance of the bowler but run out will happen due to mistake of the batsman.

    Whatever happens life should move on...
    Thanks Karthik

  • #139870
    As per your query, stump out is a wicket to bowler because the batman miss the ball to play the shot and the keeper collects it, he touches the stumps behind the batsman when he is gone out of the crease.
    Where as run out is not a wicket to the bowler because the batsman hits the ball and tries to take a run and fails to reach the crease before it reaches the wicket keeper. Thus the wicket keeper touches the stumps and the umpire declares as runout.

  • #139874
    In case of stumping, the batsman misses the flight and line/length of the ball (which is due to the deception caused by the bowler) and subsequently get stumped by the wicket-keeper. So, in case of stumping, the score-board indicates: 'Batman st. Wicket-keeper bd. Bowler'. In case of stumping, the credit goes to the bowler and also to the wicket-keeper.
    In case of run-out, the batsman does not get deceived by the bowler. The batsman hits the ball for scoring runs, but before completion of the run, the fielder sends the ball back to the wicket-keeper who takes out the bell. In some cases, the fielder hits the wicket in a direct throw. So, in case of a run-out, bowler is not involved. So, credit does not go to the bowler.

    Caution: Explosive. Handle with care.

  • #139877
    In run out the players can be multiple in order out the runner. For example, you can get the throw to the stumps and miss and then again another player picks up and throw instead of bowler. So such multiple people can throw the ball and get credit for the stumps accordingly. Often in such case run out is not credited to one person. Unless if there is only one person involved. Same can happen if the catch is missed by one player and taken by another. The same credit rule followed. And the last person who is responsible for the wicket gets the credit.

    In case of stumping, the wicket is often credited to the wicket keeper in his stats as stumps. And in case of bowler as wicket. As this process involves only two people the credit gets due in the stats accordingly.

  • #139928
    Being a cricket buff I'll definitely like to answer this question.
    As per my understanding of the game, the 'stumped-out' wicket goes to the credit of the bowler as it is assumed that it is the craft of the bowler to have entice the batsman out of the crease without touching the ball and thus provide the wicket keeper an opportunity to remove the bails.
    On the other hand, the 'run-out' wicket is not awarded to the bowler perhaps because it is assumed that the batsman played the ball, indicating he didn't find it difficult to play the bowler, and the credit should go to the fielder or fielders who contributed to the dismissal.
    An interesting situation may arise thus:
    Suppose the batsman advances too far in her/ his attempt to play the ball and it's not clear whether he is attempting a run or to play the ball. In the mean time wicket keeper collects and removes the ball. Will it be a 'run-out' case or a 'stumped' wicket?
    Answer: In cricket rule book, laws 38 and 39 respectively are 'run-out' and 'stumped' wicket dismissal rules. Having gone through them I found that it's up to the umpire to decide whether the player's intention was only to play the ball or to run a run. Accordingly, the case would be declared either a 'stumped' or a 'run-out' one.
    However, cricket being a team game, what's more important is fielding side has earned a dismissal. Credit to bowler or the team is only a matter of records and awards like MoM etc.

  • #143460
    The credit for a stumped out wicket goes to the bowler as it is the bowler who has deceived the batsman and dragged him out of the crease by his brilliant bowling skills. There is no contact between bat and ball.
    On the other hand, in case of a run out, the batsmen has successfully connected with the ball and thus had no difficulty in facing the bowler. Even then he gets out because of the brilliant fielding effort. Thus the credit has to be given to the fielder and not the bowler.

    Sometimes, especially in the death overs it happens that the two batsmen try to take a run without any contact between bat and ball. In that case if the keeper dislodges the bails, it will be given as a run out to the keeper and not stumping. This is quite fair as it is the batsmen who has intentionally left his crease for the sake of making more runs. The bowling skills are not of much importance here.

    Don't sweat the small stuff and it's all small stuff.


  • Sign In to post your comments