You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

Do you know what is banana bond?

In Chemistry we know certain molecules have got certain structures for example if we see water the empirical formula or chemical formula of water is H20 and the shape is angular and methane CH4 that shape is tetrahedron or tetrahedral shape and diborane empirical formula or chemical formula B2H6 this type of structure and bonding is called as banana bond or Tau bond as I studied in my 10+2 I remember and want to share it here. Is there any molecule that posses the same structure and bonding.Knowledgeable members please respond to the question.
    I had complete my 10+2 in the year 1971 i.e. about 45 years back and still remember about bent bonds or banana bonds. These are covalent bonds, geometrically somewhat bent like a banana. The molecule of cyclopropane with formula C3H6 is a typical example of the same. In this molecule, three carbon atoms are bonded to each other forming a cyclic structure. Instead of being purely triangular in shape, the molecule acquires a roundish shape with the bonds between the two adjacent carbon atoms somewhat bent. In the cyclopropane molecule the interorbital angle is 104 degrees. Cyclobutane molecule with chemical formula C4H8 forms a larger ring, but still has bent bonds.
    I think much water has flown in Ganges since I completed my 10+2 and it is quite likely that new theories/models have got developed in the meantime.

Let us encourage each other in sharing knowledge.

Many may not know the Banana bond you are talking about. Only the chemistry experts might exploit this thread with their knowledge in the field of chemistry.