You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Creative Writing

I was a cute little mango-my jouney to salvation

(This entry gets the consolation prize for the 'Me, a mango' creative writing contest)

I am a mango, said my mother branch. I am just beginning my life, hanging on my mom`s neck. she covers me and most of my brothers with leaves to hide all of us from people. We need to stay on her neck she says till we grow and ripe completely. That adds to our real taste and the pleasure we give to those who eat us, is our salvation or Moksha.
    I, am growing constantly, and now the leaves cannot hide me. I can see small children looking at me with tempted eyes and I really feel proud of being so much wanted. But, while I love to see those greedy eyes watching me every day, my mother branch tries her best to hide me behind the leaves.
    Today is a bright sunny day and I am peeping out as a proud prince. I shake away the leaves easily now as I am fat little mango. Some of my brothers have grown much bigger and they happily hang out. I am still a small one and waiting for the day eagerly to be as large or larger than my brothers. Then probably we get a reddish yellow colour. Oh my! I think how beautiful I would look. That is why we are the king of fruits.