You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

Sending children to tuition is necessary or is it a trend?

These days we see almost everyone send their child to tuition. Even an L.K.G kid is sent to tuition in the evening. When I was a student, I went to tuition coaching only in my 12th and rest of the times, I studies myself. My friends who did not go to tuition even in 12th have secured a very good marks and now in a very big position in MNC. When everyone have the capabilities of studying on their own, then why are children sent to tuition. I feel sending to tuition has become a trend. If someone has sent her kid for coaching classes, then neighbour also has to do the same and show she is no less and send her kid to tuition. Here competition is more in parents than in children and they are spoiling the childhood of their kids by not give privacy to do as they like. Even if kid feels tuition is not necessary, he/she has to go because parents have asked them to. I feel tuition has become a trend rather than necessity.
    The parents are the best teachers. Nobody else can teach the children better than the parents themselves as nobody knows the children better than the parents themselves. Also no tuition teacher can take more pains in teaching a child than his/her parents. The tuition teachers are merely doing a commercial activity. Their primary concern and objective is to earn money, not to develop the child.
    Therefore the parents should teach/tutor their children themselves instead of sending the same to neighborhood tuition teachers. I think most of the parents are educated nowadays and can teach their children at least up to primary level. As far changes in teaching methodologies and curriculum etc. is concerned, the parents can upgrade themselves up to the required level.
    It is totally unwise, to say the least, to copy others and take decisions according to what the neighbors are doing.