You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

Now discard the old theory into the dustbin!

During my student days in West Bengal, I used to hear that terrorism is originated from economic disparities. The Naxal movement of late sixties and early seventies was cited as an example. When some of us used to point out that the leaders of the movement were from middle-class and some were from affluent class, we were bullied to silence. Same was applicable to the Communists of Bengal.
    Later when I studied international terrorism very seriously, I came to know that terrorism is originated from fundamentalism, which can be described as a false sense of superiority of one's own belief, be it religious or ideological. Even after extensive research on the cause of terrorism, the so-called secular, liberal, left-oriented intelligentsia propounded the old theory of economic disparity as the cause of terrorism.
    The latest terror attack at Dhaka has again created a furore all over the world. Now it has come to the notice of the people that the three killers ha been from the elite schools of Bangladesh and were possessing foreign university degrees. They were from very affluent families but were indoctrinated to the repulsive ideology of ISIS.
    Now time has come to throw the old economic discrimination theory as the cause of terrorism into the dustbin! We must be pragmatic to fight this menace to humanity!
    As far as the innocent citizens are concerned, theory doesn't help them much. A life lost, is a life lost irrespective of the findings of the researches being carried out on the subject matter.
    Apparently, terrorism is also a fall out of the increasing population as competition for resources becoming scare is increasing.
    No doubt, it is one of the greatest menace, the mankind is facing in present era. The modern automatic weapons are being used as toys.