You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Punjab

How do you see Navjot Singh Sidhu's resignation

I have today read the report about Navjot Singh Sidhu, the BJP RajyaSabha MP and well known cricketer resigning his Rajya Sabha seat. It is also reported that his wife Navjot Kaur Sidhu has resigned from BJP.

It is also rumoured that Sidhu will be joining AAP. There are indirect 'welcome' signs from AAP. It is even doubted he may be the chief ministerial candidate for AAP.

How do you feel about this latest development?
    Navjot Singh Sidhu was upset since 2014 when he was asked to not to contest from Amritsar, the constituency he had represented for 10 years to make way for Arun Jaitley. He was charged by local BJP leaders with sabotaging the election when Jaitley lost the election.
    Sidhu was given the Rajya Sabha nomination in April, 2016 in a bid to prevent him from joining the Aam Aadmi Party. His wife Navjot Kaur Sidhu is doctor by profession and was elected to assembly in 2012 from Amritsar as a candidate of Bharatiya Janata Party. She had earlier announced her resignation on Facebook but later changed her mind. However she is also set to resign.

Let us encourage each other in sharing knowledge.

Well in politics shifting or jumping to other party is always seen for green pastures and the same thing happened with Sidhu. He was continuing in BJP with conditional silence and he is the talkative person on issues. And having seen cold war between Kejriwal and Modi which is turning to be a blessing in disguise for AAP which bidding its entry in to Panjab Assembly, probably Kejriwal not finding the right candidate to lead his party in that state might have offered him CM post of AAP wins there. Surely that is the big offer for the sulking leader and hence he chose to shift sides. Nevertheless the voters know what he has done as BJP MP and would act accordingly.
    K Mohan
    I consider myself as the learner everyday