You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

Why Ramayana and Mahabharatha are not included in our school syllabus?

Members,
    In our school, we have read many story books included as non-details in our school syllabus. Ramayana and Mahabharatha are good story books that teaches us the moral values in life. Why these books are not included in our school syllabus? It was not there when I studied, but it could be there these days. I do not know. Has anyone studied Ramayana and Mahabharatha and passed the subject?
    We had both the subjects in our school and I passed them. I studied from DAV school. The books are great literary works and can be included in the syllabus of private schools. However, I guess they should be kept away from any government run or funded school since they are not exactly secular in their teachings and our teachers are not trained or open minded enough to teach the students from an objective point of view - as just books with good literature and not something to believe in blindly.

I don't remember any moral value that I specifically got from the books that are not otherwise common sense.

As a Epic Ramayana and Mahabharatha might not have been included in school syllabus but certainly portion of these Epics were seen in every class in primary and high school sections. As whole as Epic it is not possible to teach and also non Hindu students may not learn. Probably for that reason the those were taught in bits. Even when citing some festivals like Deepavali and Holi, the mention of Ramayana and Mahabharatha is there. So there is no chance for any one study the Epics at school level exclusively and pass the exam only on those questions. Even Asharams of Hindu cult may not have done that.
    K Mohan
    'Idhuvum Kadandhu Pogum "
    Even this challenging situation would ease