You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Improve Your English

English improving querry

I am a graduate student.from childhood onwards I studied in English medium but I use to speak english rarely. I doesn't have stage fear but I use to miss the flow and can't translate my thoughts and opinions spontaneously . I used to say aa aa flow is disturbed and finally the disturbance looses my confidence.
    Please suggest tips how to speak if a topic is given and For the fluency steps to be followed.
    You have to increase your vocabulary in English. Start reading books. Understand the book. If you are not able to know the meaning of any word, go through the dictionary and get the correct meaning. Make one or two sentences using that word. Don't be in a hurry to complete the book. Similarly read English newspaper like The Hindu.Do understand the meaning of every word. Try to speak in English only with people. If you don't know some words, use equivalent words of your mother tongue. Don't hesitate.

Practice makes man perfect. You have to practice speaking in English. Many people worry thinking that they do mistakes and others will laugh at us. Don't worry, everybody will do some mistakes. We can correct it. Go on speaking like this. You will become perfect.

drrao
    always confident

It becomes difficult to translate thoughts from mother tongue into a language that you are not used to speaking. The best advice I can give you is to begin thinking in English. When you think in English your thoughts and words will sync automatically.

The next thing you can do is practice speaking on random topics, on your own. Stand in front of the mirror and observe your body language, as you speak. Also, make note of what happens when words don't flow – is it that you have nothing new to add or is it that you are failing to put your thoughts into words.