You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

Recollecting happy moments of childhood days.

All of us carry with us some sweet memories of our childhood days. It may be related to anything from being praised for an achievement to getting a special gift or so. Sharing such memories can help us in going back to those good olden days of innocence and happiness. Join in if you agree.

Most of us would have experienced certain happy moments during our childhood days. Shall we share some? I too had some such experiences.
    A particular one coming to my mind is regarding a published matter. While I was a High school student I used to read three Malayalam weeklies regularly. In these weeklies they used to have a children's section carrying stories, poems etc. written by school going children. This encouraged me to pen down something of my own. Poems and short stories were tried. After a few attempts I decided to send one short story to a weekly and a poem to another. After a month or so the short story appeared in children's section of a Weekly (Janayugam). I was so happy to see my name in the print format. I took the publication to my brothers and parents with much happiness.

Almost a similar feeling was there for me when I saw my first research article seen published in "Current Science" the journal of Indian Institute of Science.
    I have a similar memory of achieving something. I was in 8th standard and then prizes were given to the class topper and to every subject topper as well. The anchor started announcing the names. When it came to my class, I got 6 out of 7 prizes. I brought the momentoes home in a plastic bag and showed it to my parents who were very glad to see them. Of course, those prizes don't matter much now but as a 13 year old, that feeling was priceless.
    Don't sweat the small stuff and it's all small stuff.