You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

Do railway tracks expand and shrink in any of the seasons?

As I studied somewhere in Intermediate in Physics that railway tracks expand in particular season If I remember correctly it is summer season due to some physical laws as railway tracks are made of steel alloy( a mixture of several metals in it) has expandable nature. What are the dangers that posed when the expansion of railway tracks in that particular season?How railway sector address this issue?Do modern railway tracks also expand?What are the remedies to overcome the expandable nature?Knowledgeable members, please respond to the question?
    A correction. It's in summers. Metals expand when heated. That's why there are gaps between railway tracks.
    If left without gaps, the expansion would either lead to derailment or wear and tear of the tracks.
    In modern tracks there aren't any gaps. Installing certain low thermal expansion metals or alloys as the materials of the tracks, we can avert the situations. In continuous welded rails, the tracks are stretched to sides before summer begins.

The stronger a light shines the darker are the shadows around it.

Yes, I made the correction in the main post.
    A blunt knife or rusted knife can't be useful for anything just for the sake we call it as the knife similar to PayTM series or Sachin or Virat records.

Generally the railway tracks will be designed keeping the metallic property of expansion with temperature in summer. The gap is decided basing on this character only. These days new metallic alloys which are having low. Expansion coefficient are being used to take care of these problems.
    drrao
    always confident