You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

What should this emoticon used at this context mean or signal to me

I am not an expert in using emoticons or emojis. Being the old generation member I use full text in my communications. Yesterday I was communicating in whatsapp to an youngster relative . Naturally the youngster was using 'sms language' and emoticons.

For my greetings (it was the youngster's birthday) I received reply as Ty and an emoticon. Then I made another narrative explaining and conveying something and also adding another compliment and my wishes.

For that I got a reply 'Thanks a lot' and then two emoticons showing the giddy head/face(face with a circle above it). What should I understand from it? Does the youngster feel bored and giddy of my full text narration? Or the youngster wanted to covey that (he/she) is very much confused and I need not confuse further?

Those 'young minds' who are experienced in use of emoticons please help me to interpret the communication in emoticon.
    No... he felt blessed.. The sign of emoticon with giddy head/face(face with a circle above it)- it means a sign of blessing. When someone feels blessed, such emoticons they send. Also TY -it means thank you in short.
    This is actually not the correct way of writing English, as the children today are doing , such short forms. Communication and writing should be clear and easy for the other person to understand. But using the chat language in normal descriptive writing or even during writing emails, it has become a fashion to use short forms a lot.
    It was not the feeling of boring for the emoticon you said, it meant a sign of real happiness. :)

Do what inspires you !!

As already stated ,'TY' implies 'Thank You'.

Today I have also learnt that the particular 'emoticon' means 'feeling blessed'. Thank you, Ms. Pooja Srivastava.

Caution: Explosive. Handle with care.

Your welcome Partha Sir.
    Do what inspires you !!