You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

Functions of Supreme Court

While studying Public Administration, I studied that Indian democracy stands on three pillars. These are: Legislature, Executive and Judiciary. While Legislature and Executive and dependent on each other, Judiciary is independent and has a supervisory role on the other two.

Supreme Court is the Apex Court of the country. It has originally three jurisdictions, viz., Constitutional Jurisdiction, Appellate Jurisdiction and Writ Jurisdiction. It generally doesn't interfere in the day-to-day administration/functioning of the Legislature and Executive. It only checks whether the law and implementation are violating the Constitutional provision(s), or not.

However, of late, we can see that the Supreme Court has to take administrative role in various issues Many citizens file Public Interest Litigation (PIL) and the Supreme Court has to give directions which generally come under the ambit of Legislature and Executive. Same is applicable for High Courts also.

Is this 'judicial activism' due to the failure (to perform) on the parts of Legislature and Executive? If this is so, doesn't it indicate failure of Parliamentary democracy?

Members may kindly express their valuable opinion in this regard.