You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

Is it genuine? Should I comply with their request?

Dear Members,
    I am holding an SBI credit card. Recently I have received an SMS from BZ-SBICRD requesting me to share my 12 digit Aadhaar number with my name mentioned in the Aadhaar card to a specific number (5676791) at the earliest failing which my card account would be deactivated.

Members,
    Is it a genuine message or a bogus message? Should I comply with or not? Kindly help me with the facts.
    There are so many messages that we get from so called bank numbers. I'm not good at trusting these messages except for bank balances. If I very you, I would just go the nearest SBI branch or the branch in which I have the SBI account and then give my Adhaar card details.
    I have emails coming to me every week, do not disclose this, do not disclose that even if the bank employee is calling from a mobile number etc.

No Sun, do not give the details. The number to which you need to send the info seems genuine [refer: https://www.sbicard.com/en/personal/benefits/easy-access-channels/simply-sms.page] but I would still advise you not to send your Aadhaar number. It is best to always visit the bank's branch in person and do the needful.

Also, as per excellent advice given to me via a WhatsApp message, on the photocopy of the Aadhaar card I submitted to my bank, I clearly wrote the purpose for which I was submitting it, namely as follows -
    Copy of Aadhaar submitted at to XYZ Bank, PQR branch, for linking of Saving Account Number 000000000 and I signed below it with the date and time when I submitted it.

When people come at you with their worst, you should come at them with your best (advice given to Selena Gomez by her mother, quoted in Time magazine.)

It may be a genuine message. But do not share your AADHAR No. through mobile. Instead go to your bank branch with your AADHAR Card and a photocopy of it and get it linked with your bank account.