You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

The difference I observed between appliances and chargers.

I am no electrical and electronic engineer. I am studying chemical engineering and I know only the basics about electronics. But I made an observation. Its a shame that I made this observation this late. Maybe I was taking things for granted.
    Anyway, I see that charger wires always have two plug pins and the appliances come with three plug pins.
    Did you notice that? You might have.
    And I have a general theory about it.
    Because appliances need a neutral wire in addition to the charge wires, + and -.
    Whereas chargers don't, they supply DC current to the battery I believe.
    But all appliances,run on A.C..
    So this was my puny observation.
    Can't say I'm really proud of my observation.
    When appliances are used there need to be earthing supply so that we wont get the shock effect while using them. And for the charger two pin is enough to supply the electricity or the power it requires.
    K Mohan
    'Idhuvum Kadandhu Pogum "
    Even this challenging situation would ease

I do not agree with your observation, as the plugs on a few of the appliances and chargers that I own are quite the opposite of what you have observed.

1. My handheld cake mixer (electric beater), hair dryer, body massager and hand blender are appliances with 2 pin plugs
    2. The laptop chargers at home have three pin plugs. Even the Handycam has a three pin plug

I am not a science student, but from what I understand the third pin is required for earthing purpose. Bigger capacity machines need it for safety purpose, to protect the expensive machine. Maybe smaller devices do not draw that much current and the safety is within the system.

"A love affair with knowledge will never end in heartbreak" - Michael Garrett Marino

I think I have an answer for that too Juana.