You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Suggestions

A small observation after writing more than 1000 'Ask Experts' answers

Just an hour ago, I was checking my approved scoreboard. I was delighted to find that till yesterday, I answered 1003 questions (approved answers). Then I studied my score-board more minutely.

I have found that till now I have answered 1003 questions (approved answers). For answering 1003 questions, I received 2654 points and Rs. 2606/- cash credit. Leaving aside the cash credit portion, I find that for answering each question, I have received 2.65 points (approximately) only.

On the other hand, so far I have asked 59 questions. For these 59 questions, I have received 178 points, i.e., 3.02 points per question. [I received 5 points for a question which the Editor found very relevant at that particular point of time. So I was awarded 5 points for that question.]

Overall I find that for asking question, I have received more points compared to points scored for answering question. Needless to state that I have to make more effort to answer questions compared to making effort in asking questions.

I feel some other Members must have experienced the same anomaly. The Managing Editor and the Lead Editor, ''Ask Expert' section may kindly look into this anomaly.
    I appreciate the author for probing his own performance in the ask experts section and applause for performing superlative there. Coming to the points aspect, by asking question, normally we get lesser points in that section and those who give bigger and apt answer would get good points and cash credits. In fact the cash credits you got in ask experts was very very good and as per my knowledge goes none got this much in that section. There are every chance of points getting minus or plus after verify and approval of our posts in ask experts and that is the reason the differences are spotted.
    K Mohan
    'Idhuvum Kadandhu Pogum "