You must Sign In to post a response.
This thread has won a special prize in the weekly TOW contest for the week 06th to 12th May '18.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

At what price, permissiveness?

Years ago, when I lived in a township, some fifteen kilometers far from the city of Tiruchirapalli, I still remember that my maternal aunt ( my mother's sister) would give me Rs.5/-. I used to accumulate this amount and buy crackers at the time of Diwali, and had a great craze for that. This happened when I studied in the sixth or seventh standard.

My parents would admonish me for even accepting that Rs 5. They were sore that I used all the money of Rs.20 given to me for crackers, by my parents, and then saved money, only to blow it up!!It was another story that after the eighth standard I really lost all interest, and gave it up.

Cut to present times. I see families where the wife is also employed, more so, if she is also employed in some IT company, there is no time to attend to her own children, aged some eight or ten years old and, to wipe away the guilt, pamper the children so much. I witness situations where parents blow up Rs.15,000 on crackers, more so, just to satisfy the children.

At what price, are we encouraging, or actively participating, in this permissiveness?

How can children understand the world around them, if they are given whatever they want and, as if often happens, even without asking for it, in most cases? How will they adjust to some changed situations, where the money is either not available, or not available to the same extent?

Why should we do all this? Cant't we have either of the grandparents or some good neighbors, to teach our children, what they should want, how and when? And the limits of such wants?

Are ten year old children not capable of understanding the value of Rs. 100? Why is that we are even not understanding that this is just what needs to be done?