You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

Need guidance: How to ask the question?

Let me first mention the facts in details. I studied in a school of South Calcutta and passed my Xth Board examination in 1983 and XIIth Board examination on 1985. My younger brother also studied in the same school and cleared Board in 1986 and 1988. In our school, two brothers used to study. Both of them were junior to me and senior to my brother.

Those brothers were brilliant. The elder brother R passed his Xth Board in 1984 and XIIth Board in 1986 with a dazzlingly brilliant result. He cleared the entrance examination and studied BE in Computer Science from Jadavpur University (this means he was placed among top-20 in the Entrance examination). His younger brother S surpassed him, got ranks in 1985 and 1987 Board examinations and studied Computer Science from IIT-Kharagpur.

Although the younger brother performed better than his elder brother, I was more impressed by the elder brother R. He himself performed brilliantly without any guidance, and as his widowed mother could not afford to arrange coaching/tuition for her sons, he himself taught his younger brother and his brother surpassed him.

I left Calcutta in 1989 but later came to know that my friend R. (the elder brother) died in an accident. But I could not get the details. I lost contact with them.

After a very long gap of more than 27 years, last month I have come to know that the younger brother S returned to India from the USA after more than 25 years and is presently teaching at IIT-Kanpur.

Now my question is: How can I ask him (after such a long gap) about his elder brother R? How can I raise this issue without hurting him or his very old mother?