You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

Have you seen the old ladies and men, going on fast, even today?

Those who are old, now in their eighties and nineties, even today, fast on specific days, including full moon days. There was, and is, a particular logic behind the fasting. They would go on fast, possibly to help digest the food or toxins that go into our body.

Members, who are doctors by profession, will be able to explain the scientific reasoning. However, what needs to be understood is that there was, in those days, an economic reason too. They, our parents, belonged to a different generation. The salaries were low, and inflation was quite high. They even possibly saved a little money here and there.

That kind of sacrifice is now history. Or is it? Do you still see them fasting? What can we learn from them?
    Yes the elders at the house like grand mother, grand father , daughter in law and other elders if any would undertake fasting during important days. Like on Ekadasi days, or On Pournami or full moon day. And apart from that some keep fasting on Wednesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays for various Gods. My brother in law keep fasting on every Thursdays for Raghavendra Swamy and during that day he wont take even water. He has been continuing this during scorching summer too. One thing is sure, those who fast in a week even for one day , they keep good health free from illness.
    K Mohan
    'Idhuvum Kadandhu Pogum "
    Even this challenging situation would ease