You must Sign In to post a response.
(This thread is the Special Prize Winner of the TOW contest for the week 8th July – 14th July’18)
  • Category: Miscellaneous

Why not co-opt industry competence in all courses?

For every specialization in undergraduate and post graduate education, we do have the real world. For example, in Chemistry, we have research laboratories in Chemistry and even Corporate organizations that undertake cutting edge research. In Management, we have the entire real world.

Yet, no domain industry expert is available for changing the syllabus, for introducing new job-oriented electives and so on. Only this can reduce the gap between theory and practice and lead to employ ability. Why can't the Government get into the act and do something urgently so that we can have better and meaningful industry-institute co-operation?
    I am studying chemical engineering and I do have job oriented electives. I'm being taught softwares both General and designing ones. I have a subject called Chemical engineering Equipment Design which helps me design modules used in industries. I have another subject chemical engineering plant design and economics which helps me deal with the financial aspects of the industry. Not only this I've studied management sciences and entrepreneurship development too. The curriculum is designed so nicely that we get managerial, technical and soft skills easily.
    The stronger a light shines the darker are the shadows around it.