Resources » Education

Different Types of Plastids

Updated: Category: Education
Author: Member Level: GoldPoints: 15

This article is about Types of Plastids, Chromoplasts, leucoplasts, Chloroplast, Pheoplasts, Rhodoplasts.

Plastids Definition

Plastids are special cell organelles found in plant cells which are centers of specialized metabolic activities.

Types of Plastids

Plastids are classified into 3 types.

1. Chromoplasts

2. Leucoplasts

3. Chloroplasts


The Chromoplasts contain pigments. Chromoplasts is the basic element which decide the colour in flowering plants. They are further divided based on the presence of colour.


Pheoplasts contain the pigment fucoxanthin, which is brown in colour. Brown algae, diatoms and dinoflagellates consist of Pheoplasts.


Rhodoplasts contain the red pigment called phycoerythrin. The cells of red algae contain Rhodoplasts.


Leucoplasts are the plastids without colour pigments. Leucoplasts in plants are useful for the storage of starch, oil and proteins.


Chloroplast contains the green pigment chlorophyll a and b. Organisms like Green algae and plants contain Chloroplast.

One form of plastids can be converted into another form .

Did you like this resource? Share it with your friends and show your love!

Responses to "Different Types of Plastids"

No responses found. Be the first to respond...


Post Comment:

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name:   Sign In to fill automatically.
    Email: (Will not be published, but required to validate comment)

    Type the numbers and letters shown on the left.

    Submit Article     Return to Article Index
    Awards & Gifts
    Top Contributors
    TodayLast 7 Daysmore...

    ISC Technologies, Kochi - India. © All Rights Reserved.