Resources » News / Announcements » Loksabha Election News

Presidential Election of India in the year 2012.

Updated: Category: Loksabha Election News
Author: Member Level: GoldPoints: 50

The Presidential Election will be carried out on 22nd of July 2012. The following article contains the list of eligible candidates who were being nominated for the post of President of India in the year 2012. In this way the final two candidates are shortlisted for the post of President of India and they are Mr. Pranab Mukherjee and Mr. P.A. Sangma.

Nomination of President of India 2012:

As we all know that the current President of India is Mrs. Pratibha Patil and also she is the first lady who beholds the prestigious post. Mrs. Pratibha Patil was being selected as president on July 2007 and her tenure as President of India will end on the 24th July of the year 2012. Hence, the President of India for the further tenure of 5 year is yet to be elected the process of Presidential Elections for the year 2012 is going on right now.

Nominees for the post of “President of India” are being selected from the State legislatures and Parliament of India. The State legislature includes the Vidhan Sabha where as the Parliament of India includes Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha. In this was only one of the elected nominees will win the seat of President of India for the year 2012 and the term of above said post is for the period of 5 years. The term length of 5 years is renewable as well.

The nominees for Presidential Election of the year 2012 were in total of 13 and this figure went to 14 due to the last minute nomination of P. A. Sangma who is a Speaker of Lok Sabha. The last date for filing of application for the post of President of India was 30th June 2012. In this way the candidates nominated for the post of President of India were as follows:

A. P. J. Abdul Kalam, former President
Hamid Ansari, Vice President
Mohsina Kidwai, Member of Rajya Sabha
Manmohan Singh, Prime Minister
S. Y. Quraishi, former Chief Election Commissioner
Meira Kumar, Speaker of the Lok Sabha
A. K. Antony, Defense Minister
Parkash Singh Badal, Chief Minister of Punjab
Mulayam Singh Yadav, Samajwadi Party leader
Karan Singh, Member of Rajya Sabha
Somnath Chatterjee, former Speaker of the Lok Sabha
Gopal Krishna Gandhi, former Governor of Bengal and grandson of Mohandas Gandhi
Pranab Mukherjee, Finance Minister and
P. A. Sangma Lok Sabha

It was interesting to know that including above 14 names the total number of nominations went up to 45. The short listing of all nominated candidates for the post of President of India has been carried out on 2nd July 2012. In this way the final two members were scrutinized and they are Mr. Pranab Mukherjee who was a Finance Minister of India till 24th of June 2012 and Mr. P. A. Sangma who is a Speaker of Lok Sabha. It is the first time that a tribal unity has nominated a candidate for the post of President of India.

President of India for the year 2012 - Mr. Pranab Mukherjee or Mr. P. A. Sangma:

According to the public poll it was noticed that the former President Mr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam were requesting him to hold the post of President of India for the tenure which will begin from July 2012. But during the nominations of President of India Dr. A. P. J. Abdul refused to behold the above said post in future. Also it is interesting to know that Mr. P. A. Sangma once said in public that he would not like to be in the list of nominees if and only if Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam resides in that list. But as soon as Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam said that he is not interested for the post of President of India, then Mr. P. A. Sangma filed his candidature without concerning the other members. So it seems that Mr. P. A. Sangma might not get that much of votes. But no one knows what will be the final wordict of the Poll.
P A Sangma
Mr. P. A. Sangma, at first, did not concern with their allied members and he probably did not care of the support that he will need. Hence, announcing his candidature on his own might decrease the amount of votes. At this stage Mr. P. A. Sangma even filed a petition against former Finance Minister – Mr. Pranab Mukherjee stating that he is not a suitable candidate for the Presidential Elections 2012. Today, 10th July 2012, the Election Commission have dismissed the petition filed by Mr. P. A. Sangma. Even if this is so, Mr. P. A. Sangma got amazing support from the Chief Minister of Punjab - Mr. Prakash Singh Badal, Chief Minister of Goa - Mr. Manohar Parrikar, Chief Minister of Orissa – Mr. Naveen Patnaik. Also the BJP party was in support of him and the president of BJP – Mr. Nitin Gadkari and other party leaders Sushma Swaraj, Lal Krishna Advani and Arun Jaitley joined the support campaign. At last the Tribal Forum of India too supported him and It is to be noticed that the head of Tribal Forum of India is none other thatn Mr. Arvind Netam who is the member of Indian National Congress (INC).

Winner of Presidential Election 2012:

Mr. Pranab Mukherjee,right from the beginning, had a great support because most of the members from the Indian National Congress which include the Party president Sonia Gandhi, Prime Minister – Mr. Manmohan Singh, The general secretary – Rahul Gandhi. Here it was interesting to hear that the Maharashtra's political party Shiv Sena lead by Mr. Balasaheb Thackray also lauded the nomination of Pranab Mukherjee. Next was the Indian Union Muslim League's – Mr. E. Ahmed, the National Democratic Alliance's – Janata Dal (United), the Lok Janashakti Party's – Ram Vilas Paswan, the Samajwadi Party leader – Mr. Mulayam Singh Yadav, the Rashtriya Lok Dal's Ajit Singh, the National Conference's – Farooq Abdullah, the Rashtriya Janata Dal's Leader – Mr. Lalu Prasad Yadav and the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam's – Mr. T. R. Baalu.
Pranab Mukherjee
Hence, looking at the huge support the former Finance Minister, Pranab Mukherjee, said that he needs the co-operation of all people. Therefore it is necessary that a right candidate gets appointed at the prestigious post which is the President of India. We all the Indian's are eagerly waiting for the results which will be declared on 22nd of July 2012.

Did you like this resource? Share it with your friends and show your love!

Responses to "Presidential Election of India in the year 2012."
Author: Pravin S Chavre.  14 Jul 2012   Member Level: Gold   Points : 1
Yesterday, the news channels lauded that the Vice President of India, Hamid Ali Ansari is willing to get support for his further tenure of 5 years.

Hence, for the post of Vice President of India, Hamid Ansari might continue beholding the same post for next 5 years.

Have a nice day.


Post Comment:

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name:   Sign In to fill automatically.
    Email: (Will not be published, but required to validate comment)

    Type the numbers and letters shown on the left.

    Submit Article     Return to Article Index
    Awards & Gifts
    Top Contributors
    TodayLast 7 Daysmore...

    ISC Technologies, Kochi - India. © All Rights Reserved.