Resources » News/Announcements » General

Google chrome reviews - crashed few minutes after use


Posted Date: 02-Sep-2008  Last Updated:   Category: General    
Author: Member Level: Gold    Points: 50



I installed the new Google Chrome browser today morning. I was so excited to get this installed within few minutes after it was made available to the public.

I was really eager for this new browser for several reasons. One of them is, it is from Google and I am a big fan of Google. Second reason is, my Internet Explorer keep on crashing every now and then. Is it not exciting to see a new browser that does nto crash? Yes, it is.

Installation issues

I tried to install Chrome through Internet Explorer as soon as it was available for download. However, the download did not work from IE. (I thought the browser war already started between IE and Chrome !). The terms & conditions text area looked shrinked than normal and the "Accept and install" button did not work at all. (I was tring to install from the page given below.
http://gears.google.com/chrome/eula.html?hl=en'>. The page was showing a javascript error as well.

Screenshot:



So, I switched to Firefox and tried to install. The installation was very smooth and took only less than a minute to complete.

Attempt to re install failed

I tried to switch back to IE and see how the installation works. This time I went to the Google chrome home page - http://www.google.com/chrome/ and tried to install from there. It smoothly downloaded chrome. I was expecting that it will give me a nice message saying 'Google Chrome is already installed, Enjoy using it !". However, it threw a nasty message on me:

Screenshot:



So, what happened ?

I installed Google Chrome few hours back and browsed few sites to see how it works. I did not see anything really exciting. So, I said myself "Not bad" and closed the browser.

Couple of hous later, I opened Google Chrome and tried to visit a web page. And see what did I get - a message saying "Google Chrome has crashed".

Screenshot:



The dialog looks bit funny. It has an OK and Cancel button. I was bit confused which one to press. Since it is already crashed, I did not expect that pressing the Cancel button will actually cancel the 'crash'. However, since I was offered a choice, I pressed 'Cancel', but it simply closed the dialog and Chrome browser.

Recovery from crash

After the crash and shutdown of the browser, I restarted Chrome. It came up with a nice header bar which look like a IE security warning. The message was "Google Chrome didn't shutdown correctly. To reopen the pages you had open, click Restore". I pressed the restore button and it took me back to the original page that I was viewing.

Screenshot:



General review comments

1. The font does not look very sharp and clear.

2. Chrome is much faster than IE and firefox.

3. Chrome works perfectly even with 30 tabs open.

4. It takes much less memory and processor share compared to IE and Firefox.

5. The default home page with tabbed thumbnail images of frequently visited sites are pretty cool, even though it raises some privacy concerns.

6. During installation, it automatically downloaded all bookmarks from other browsers, which raises some privacy concerns.

I will post a more detailed review of Google Chrome browser after I research little bit more.


Did you like this resource? Share it with your friends and show your love!

Article by Tony John
Tony John is a professional blogger from India, who started his first Weblog in 1998 at Tripod.com. Tony switched to blogging as a passion blended business in the year 2000 and currently operates several popular web properties including IndiaStudyChannel.com, Techulator.com, dotnetspider.com and many more.

Follow Tony John or read 26 articles authored by Tony John



Responses to "Google chrome reviews - crashed few minutes after use"
Author: VIRUTHAGIRI    04 Sep 2008Member Level: Gold   Points : 1
yes tony, i download it today morning. it is quite good than fire fox and IE. i was searching something via google . that time i noticed it. it saves the previous pages also, so we can come back to the previous page easily. the tabs are also good.


Author: Lenin    05 Sep 2008Member Level: Gold   Points : 1
Tony your experience is first among ISc, think so. This is exciting and interesting.
Regards,
Lenin-Editor



Author: Sid    06 Sep 2008Member Level: Gold   Points : 2
Google Chrome is a web browser project by Google. It was leaked yesterday, and Google held a press conference to announce the launch of Chrome. With Chrome, Google hopes to bring the best of various browsers and code, like Firefox and WebKit (WebKit is used by Safari too).

Chrome has a remarkably minimalist interface. There is no full-scale menu bar and no title bar--and few distractions. All controls are buried beneath two icons to the right of the Omnibar (as Google refers to its address bar): a page icon for managing tabs and using Google Gears to create application-like shortcuts from your desktop to a Web site; and a wrench for history, downloads, and other browser options.

Google may well have been forced into a damage control mode, as the first bit of news that we knew was Chrome’s information being leaked. Furthermore, Linux and Mac versions have not been launched - that leaves a large number of Google fans displeased.

It doesn't feel very different from Firefox 3. Chrome might be a little faster, but it's hard to tell on a fast computer. Also, my Google Chrome does not have any plug-ins installed right now. It's not like Firefox 3 is a horrible piece of junk that crashes every 10 minutes.

There’s one highlight that we would like to point to: Chrome can consume considerably less memory than Firefox 3. In our tests. This means that Chrome might be more suitable for Nettops than Firefox, and this might be the most obvious benefit of Google’s software architecture for Chrome.

Doing CNTRL F for find works well, like that it highlights all items on page, then moves through them. Is this same in safari. Bah I need to download and install Safari to compare.

I was resisting Safari as I didn't like apple forcing it in my updater. Silly reason, but still.

Interesting. The 'chrome' in Vista looks so much better then xp. Its blue in xp, and Vista is black/grey. Just looks better.

Don't bother trying to open xml or RSS with the browser yet. Just junk.



Author: Nitin    06 Sep 2008Member Level: Diamond   Points : 2
Hi,

I downloaded the browser the day it was Released. I had no issue. I am a person who work on all browser. I have SAFARI, MOZILLA 3, IE 8(BETA). Chrome has good look and user friendly features.

The most important the google has done is provided more screen space on the browser, which is a must for every users.

It has used features of Mozilla and also Internet Explorer into it. A user of mozilla will be able to make out from Chrome the features that are also available in Firefox. Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US) AppleWebKit/525.13 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/0.2.149.27 Safari/525.13

The best features that I liked in Chrome are:

1) It saves your last open pages as Recently opened pages, Most visited pages. This is something lag in IE and Firefox.

2) The incognito features which I have not seen till date in any of the browser, you will think what is INCOGNITO : Pages you view in this window won't appear in your browser history or search history, and they won't leave other traces, like cookies, on your computer after you close the incognito window.

3) If you open many application while at work, and need to type the webaddress everyday. Check out this, Chrome has a features which Create application shortcuts. This will create a shortcut for and just a click on there you go application is opened for you.

4) The best is download features. Try to download any file in Chrome and see, you will like it.

My Experience with Google Chrome is best till now : loading of pages is faster, history is good to track, one click fav, Security (incognito).

Looking out for Shortcut for Chrome. Click Here



Chrome Shortcuts.doc
Author: Raghav    08 Sep 2008Member Level: Gold   Points : 1
Tony,

I also downloaded the browser. and it is working fine. I do not have any issues. Thank you for sharing your experience. I will also share my experiences if I find any problem with that browser

Raghav



Author: James    10 Sep 2008Member Level: Silver   Points : 0
Hello, Yes it is nice. I just did it. Thank you.


Author: ben    11 Sep 2008Member Level: Bronze   Points : 2
firefox is so much better!!!!!!! it is completely customizable with free add ons. want to know why chrome may be faster (i don't think it is but it could be for you) is because they are using a technique that they have offered to increase speed of IE, they run all of your sites through their site, and see and record everything that you do and type, so id possible milliseconds either way are worth loss of your security than thats fine for you.


Author: Miloni Modi    12 Sep 2008Member Level: Silver   Points : 1
It seems that you had a very good experience with google chrome.
But I would like to know that as it is crashed should we install it and use it or not. And what are the other problem being faced by you.



Author: anup ranjan das    17 Sep 2008Member Level: Bronze   Points : 0
Its Fast, easy and reliable, its a multi-user system


Author: prabhakar khare    18 Sep 2008Member Level: Silver   Points : -2
Seeing how I haven't installed any beta software lately (yeah right), I figured I jump in with everyone else on the net and see what's up with Google's new entry in the browser market. If you haven't heard about Chrome yet, then just do a Google Search on it and you'll have plenty to read for the foreseeable future. The install was small 468k so the download was fast and the install took about 15 seconds so in well under a minute I went from "click" to "play". Not too shabby. So, if you too are interested in giving a new browser a shot, here are a few cool features that stick out

One box for everything

Web search. Web history. Address bar. Suggestions as you type. One unified box serves all your browsing needs.

My Take: This is VERY cool. Ever hated having to enter search terms in a separate edit box in the browser? Not any more, all the features are integrated into the single address/search/history/etc bar.

New Tab Page

Every time you open a new tab, you'll see a visual sampling of your most visited sites, most used search engines, and recently bookmarked pages and closed tabs. Other browsers

My Take: Been there, done that with IE8 and never really found a use for it although some might. There doesn't seem to be a way to configure this on or off but hopefully some day there will be an "about:blank" option for the new tab page.

Application Shortcuts

Use web apps without opening your browser. Application shortcuts can directly load your favorite online apps.

My Take: This feature has been available in FireFox for some time so nothing earth shattering here.

Dynamic Tabs

You can drag tabs out of the browser to create new windows, gather multiple tabs into one window or arrange your tabs however you wish -- quickly and easily.

My Take: This is pretty cool. There have been times I've wanted to re-organize my 30-tab browser session into a couple of windows and this would be a very easy way to do it.

Crash Control

Every tab you're using is run independently in the browser, so if one app crashes it won't take anything else down.

My Take: Not sure how I feel about this one. Each tab runs it's own process and already I've got 4 processes going each at about 30MB or memory usage. How is this going to scale for the 30+tab user. I like the crash protection but splitting windows up across process boundaries might be a better option unless they can reduce the memory footprint on each tab process.

Incognito Mode

Don't want pages you visit to show up in your web history? Choose incognito mode for private browsing.

My Take: This feature ROCKS! Ever worried about clicking on that link that your co-worked forwarded to you? Worry no longer, with Incognito mode, pages viewed will not appear in the browser history and they won't leave any other traces. Not that I would need that feature though...

Safe Browsing

Google Chrome warns you if you're about to visit a suspected phishing, malware or otherwise unsafe website.

My Take: Again, this is in all the other mainstream browsers out there so it's par for the course.

Instant Bookmarks

Want to bookmark a web page? Just click the star icon at the left edge of the address bar and you're done.

My Take: This will likely save the speed-bookmarker some time, but since I rarely create bookmarks I'm not sure how it will impact my day to day experience.

Importing settings

When you switch to Google Chrome, you can pick up where you left off with all the bookmarks and passwords from your existing browser.

My Take: Again, par for the course. They needed to do this to get folks to use it.

Simpler Downloads

No intrusive download manager; you see your download's status at the bottom of your current window.

My Take: This is another one that is awesome in my opinion. I HATE the downloads window with a passion so this will likely be a nice feature to avoid that extra popup hitting me in the face every time I download a file.

Developer Tools

Included in the menus, are the developer options of "View Source", "Debug Javascript", "Javascript console", and "Task Manager".


My Take: Since they wrote their own Javascript engine for this release, they better darn well have a Javascript debugger in there. The Task Manager (Shift+ESC) is a nice little feature that will show you the memory usage for each component in the Chrome environment (windows, tabs, plugins, etc). If you are big into stats, then check out the "about:memory" shortcut where you can get all the memory details of each of the tasks. With all this, it still falls way short of the WebDeveloper plugin for FireFox. Until more debugging tools come into play, it'll be hard to pry me from FireFox.

Configuration

The browser was built with simplicity in mind and there are only a very small set of configuration options to worry about.

My Take: In the configuration window there are 3 tabs with only a handful of settings total such as proxy server settings, search engine defaults, password preferences, and download locations. I say AMEN to this one as I find it hard to believe anyone needs all gazillion settings that are in IE and FireFox.

Final Thoughts

The best features by far are the Incognito Mode, Single Address/Search/History bar, and the new download manager. Oh, and it's pretty snappy to boot. But, to get me to switch full-time, there'll have to be some more developer tool integration. But, keep in mind that this is a beta project so I have high hopes that FireFox will finally have met it's match. Oh, and as an added benefit, DevCentral works GREAT in Chrome!



Author: Vinova Rocker    19 Sep 2008Member Level: Gold   Points : 0
i used it.it is very cool


Author: Pradeep    20 Sep 2008Member Level: Silver   Points : 1
i used this chrome from day 1, i feeling most conferable with chrome, but i too have other browers(opera, ie8 beta2). i am not satisfied with ie8 or opera.

i too have opened some of regional sites which is opening with full comfort. but not by opera.



Author: Aishwarya    26 Sep 2008Member Level: Gold   Points : 1
hi friends chrome is the one of the best product by google.. its really fast,cool,easy to use... its very easy to search in google.. its the one of the browser is easy to use... its more comfortable.. its realy wonderful browser...


Author: students    28 Sep 2008Member Level: Gold   Points : 1
At first when i installed Chrome, it seemed to be faster. But with in few days, it seemed to load very slowly and so i had to uninstall it and continue stick on with Mozilla.


Author: Dr Sachine (Eye Retina Surgeon)    28 Sep 2008Member Level: Gold   Points : 1
I tried installing chrome today with IE.Installation failed.I got this message" Installer download failed Error 0 x 80072f78.Can anybody help?
If there are any recent opinions,please post



Author: Rakesh    06 Oct 2008Member Level: Silver   Points : 1
A light weight browser people say i am using from DAY 1 still not finding any difference between Chrome and Mozilla or anyother...



Author: kalyan    12 Oct 2008Member Level: Silver   Points : 0
Google chrome is good when compared with other browsers and it is also very fast and more reliable when compared with others


Author: Swati    20 Oct 2008Member Level: Silver   Points : 2
Hi all.
I installed Google Chrome and am using it currently. Its eye catching features is the first thing that is noticeable about this latest Google invention. Besides it provides many other facilities, viz displaying the most frequently used web pages in a grid for easy and fast access. I am still discovering its features and find it quite fascinating.
-Swati



Author: Dr Sachine (Eye Retina Surgeon)    22 Oct 2008Member Level: Gold   Points : 1
I downloaded chrome & installed.Initially it took more time for importing data from IE.Once installed ,its functioning very well.All sites are opening fast & features are good


Author: Dr Sachine (Eye Retina Surgeon)    22 Oct 2008Member Level: Gold   Points : 1
Google chrome has very good security features.eb pages are opening quite fast


Author: Dr Sachine (Eye Retina Surgeon)    26 Oct 2008Member Level: Gold   Points : 1
I am very happy with chrome.Tillnow there is no problem.Bookmarks are seen immediately.Recently browsed webpages can be revisited immediately.


Author: syed    26 Oct 2008Member Level: Gold   Points : 2
The chrome is stunningly fast and beatifully did the job's and loading like a lightning, well done google,

We do have a addon for teh chrome as well in the name of backup, Please refer to the below site, it has a number of things about chrome,

http://www.mychromeaddons.com

Regards,
Syed
DxB




Author: Vivekanand TM    31 Oct 2008Member Level: Silver   Points : 1
Hey guys can i download this in my office system, Is this free or any licence required

Thanks
Vivekanand TM



Author: ranganathan    31 Oct 2008Member Level: Gold   Points : 2
Yes for me installation had finished smoothly but crashed . when am performing online transaction with icici bank account it crashed immediately i was shocked to see that message i dont know what to do. then decided to not to click the ok or cancel button in the pop up dialog box . after that i moved the dialog box to the corner of the screen and then i continued the transaction it went smoothly.


Author: Saleem    01 Nov 2008Member Level: Gold   Points : 1
Today Morning my chrome is lika lightning, after a number of time i have tried, a small flash light has came in my screen and the chrome hasen't turned out, please advice me what can i do for that.

I have tried to install it and installed three times, but no use still, it's not opening at all,



Author: syed    03 Nov 2008Member Level: Gold   Points : 2
Dear friends,

I have got a link in my outlook mail, when i clicked it the chrome has started working, and after closing it i have tried to open it , but i couldn't. then i have tried the link in outlook again it's worked,

I don't know what is the exact problem, but if we still need chrome we have to do this,

Regards,
Syed
DxB
"I like to see a man proud of the place in which he lives. I like to see a man live so that his place will be proud of him - Abraham Lincoln"



Author: Prasanta Borah    07 Nov 2008Member Level: Gold   Points : 1
Hi Thanks for your information. Later now i will be used only google chrome.

PRASANTA BORAH
ISC Member



Author: Prasanta Borah    07 Nov 2008Member Level: Gold   Points : 1
Hi All,

Really google chome is the best then IE and Firefox. I have downloaded recently.

PRASANTA BORAH
ISC Member



Author: Nemish    10 Nov 2008Member Level: Gold   Points : 2
I don't know why but I felt chrome is not so good at performance.
I personally feel that its good with services related to google but for other features it needs improvement.

Initially it takes much more time as compared to other browsers to send request to the server but then slowly speeds up.

Nemish(Editor,IndiaStudyChannel)
(Feel free to bother me)



Author: Jonathan Phillip Obregon    02 Dec 2008Member Level: Silver   Points : 1
Well, I downloaded Google Chrome just a month ago and have tried it. I found no problem with it but I prefer to use Firefox until now. Google chrome might be fast but it still lacks a lot of things. So up to this moment I am still using the reliable Firefox.


Author: Paneendra    09 Dec 2008Member Level: Silver   Points : 1
The new version of Google Chrome Beta is GOOD with the new layout and feature. The information given by you is very good and efficient. Please give the information about many other things also. The information given by is very good. BE HAPPY NO BP. Thank you.


Author: Paneen    10 Dec 2008Member Level: Bronze   Points : 0
A very good one.


Author: Shahul    11 Dec 2008Member Level: Bronze   Points : 2
Well i am using google chrome for a couple of months. In addition i ve Firefox n IE. In my experience Firefox is the best among them. Chrome is slower of course but i hadnt get any error messages or pop ups like in ur case. Wat i like in Chrome is the navigation. Its drag n drop facility for new tab is cool. Thank U.


Author: Ram Anand    23 Dec 2008Member Level: Gold   Points : 2
Hi Tony, and all other members that i have been using Firefox for the last 4 months which was proven that its the best among all other explorer i used all other explorers which was not as better than Firefox, i also got the same problem that it have been crashed, but when i submitted that report it was got cleared.
Thanking you!



Author: B SHAMEEM BANU    26 Dec 2008Member Level: Bronze   Points : 1
Hi Tony,i have installed chrome last week..its very easy to use...
i got popups many times while i am search boxes...drop facility is very useful...



Author: msureshmca06    01 Jan 2009Member Level: Silver   Points : 1
ya dear friend me too using the google chrome. its not too good as we expected. now i am using both firefox and IE
it may be more usefull..



Author: praveen    07 Jan 2009Member Level: Gold   Points : 1
i am using chrome from the it released, i did not face even a single problem, i like the Incognito Mode, and application shortcuts. over all i liked this browser, then the other browser's i used,
i also like opera, i used it before chrome



Author: RAJA M    20 Jan 2009Member Level: Gold   Points : 1
Yea Tony,

Im already using Google Chrome. But, some time some of the errors are there. anyhow, compare to Internet Explorer, its fast ..


Raj



Author: Amit Tiwari    14 Feb 2009Member Level: Silver   Points : 2
Every time you open a new tab, you'll see a visual sampling of your most visited sites, most used search engines, and recently bookmarked pages and closed tabs. Other browsers

My Take: Been there, done that with IE8 and never really found a use for it although some might. There doesn't seem to be a way to configure this on or off but hopefully some day there will be an "about:blank" option for the new tab page.

Application Shortcuts

Use web apps without opening your browser. Application shortcuts can directly load your favorite online apps.

My Take: This feature has been available in FireFox for some time so nothing earth shattering here.

Dynamic Tabs

You can drag tabs out of the browser to create new windows, gather multiple tabs into one window or arrange your tabs however you wish -- quickly and easily.

My Take: This is pretty cool. There have been times I've wanted to re-organize my 30-tab browser session into a couple of windows and this would be a very easy way to do it.

Crash Control

Every tab you're using is run independently in the browser, so if one app crashes it won't take anything else down.

My Take: Not sure how I feel about this one. Each tab runs it's own process and already I've got 4 processes going each at about 30MB or memory usage. How is this going to scale for the 30+tab user. I like the crash protection but splitting windows up across process boundaries might be a better option unless they can reduce the memory footprint on each tab process.

Incognito Mode

Don't want pages you visit to show up in your web history? Choose incognito mode for private browsing.
This feature ROCKS! Ever worried about clicking on that link that your co-worked forwarded to you? Worry no longer, with Incognito mode, pages viewed will not appear in the browser history and they won't leave any other traces. Not that I would need that feature though...

Safe Browsing



Author: Amit Tiwari    14 Feb 2009Member Level: Silver   Points : 2
Every time you open a new tab, you'll see a visual sampling of your most visited sites, most used search engines, and recently bookmarked pages and closed tabs. Other browsers

My Take: Been there, done that with IE8 and never really found a use for it although some might. There doesn't seem to be a way to configure this on or off but hopefully some day there will be an "about:blank" option for the new tab page.

Application Shortcuts

Use web apps without opening your browser. Application shortcuts can directly load your favorite online apps.

My Take: This feature has been available in FireFox for some time so nothing earth shattering here.

Dynamic Tabs

You can drag tabs out of the browser to create new windows, gather multiple tabs into one window or arrange your tabs however you wish -- quickly and easily.

My Take: This is pretty cool. There have been times I've wanted to re-organize my 30-tab browser session into a couple of windows and this would be a very easy way to do it.

Crash Control

Every tab you're using is run independently in the browser, so if one app crashes it won't take anything else down.

My Take: Not sure how I feel about this one. Each tab runs it's own process and already I've got 4 processes going each at about 30MB or memory usage. How is this going to scale for the 30+tab user. I like the crash protection but splitting windows up across process boundaries might be a better option unless they can reduce the memory footprint on each tab process.

Incognito Mode

Don't want pages you visit to show up in your web history? Choose incognito mode for private browsing.
This feature ROCKS! Ever worried about clicking on that link that your co-worked forwarded to you? Worry no longer, with Incognito mode, pages viewed will not appear in the browser history and they won't leave any other traces. Not that I would need that feature though...

Safe Browsing



Author: Narendra Pratap Singh    06 Mar 2009Member Level: Silver   Points : 2
Friends you all have mention that while using google crome it creates problem but dear friend as realised that it can save all tthe search pages.
If any case you find any page or web but unfortunately you lost that page so you can that page from the saving quality of Google Chrom.
This is good thing created by google.



Author: Sushila S Iyengar    25 Mar 2010Member Level: Gold   Points : 2
I have also installed Google Chrome in my P/C.

I find it much more faster than the conventional Internet Explorer. I was excited.

But all of a sudden, when I was doing internet banking, many of the options were not available. I could not view my Demat account, and also credit card, fixed depost summary etc. I got very upset and spoke to my bankers; left a complaint on net asking reasons for disconnecting the service of those options, etc.without intimation.

Visited my bank personally but was surprised to see that those options work on their P/C. Finally, I tried to open it through Internet Explorer, and all the options were visible. Thank God! It made my life simpler.

What I learnt from this experience is, we must have the Internet
explorer also in tact.

Regards
Sushila



Guest Author: Web Question Answers     28 May 2013
Hi Tony,
I am also using Google Chrome. Only when there are certain temporary issues with Chrome then I use IE or Foirefox



Author: Sam    20 Jan 2014Member Level: Gold   Points : 2
After being a Mozilla fan, I too switched to chrome a month back as my Mozilla had started crashing frequently. I am not disappointed with Chrome as of now.

Also, OK and cancel button in the error dialog was for the question 'Restart now?'



Feedbacks      

Post Comment:




  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name:   Sign In to fill automatically.
    Email: (Will not be published, but required to validate comment)



    Type the numbers and letters shown on the left.


    Submit Article     Return to Article Index

    Awards & Gifts
    Active Members
    TodayLast 7 Daysmore...

    ISC Technologies, Kochi - India. Copyright © All Rights Reserved.