Satellite Symposium on Advancing Nanotechnology

Satellite Symposium on Advancing Nanotechnology and Its Implications in Biological Sciences

December 14, 2007

School of Life Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University
New Delhi -110067, India

Chief Patron : Professor B. B. Bhattacharya Vice-Chancellor, JNU

Patron : Prof. Rajendra Prasad Rector, JNU

President : Prof. P.K. Yadava, Dean, School of Life Sciences

Advisory committee : Prof. Aparna Dixit
Prof. B.C. Tripathi
Prof. Himadari Bohidar
Prof. Prasenjit Sen
Prof. Rakesh Bhatnagar
Prof. Rajiv Saxena
Dr. Rakesh Tyagi
Prof. Sanjay Puri
Prof. V.K.Jain

Organizing Committee

Ashwani Pareek
Ajay Saxena
Tanuja Mohanty
Sushil Jha
M Shakarad
S.P. Sharma
Depak Sharma
Rana Pratap Singh
Ashu B Tikku
Meenakshi Dua
Krishna Kumar
B.A. Khan
S. Misra

Dr Atul Kumar Johri
School of Life Sciences
Jawaharlal Nehru University,
New Delhi 110067, INDIA
Tel.: +91-11-26704511 (Off.),
Fax +91-11-26742558

Program :-

9.00 a.m.-10.30 a.m.

Welcome address:
Prof. P.K. Yadav, Dean, School of Life Sciences, JNU

Inaugural speech:
Prof. Yash Pal, Chancellor, JNU
Prof. Rajendra Prasad, Rector, JNU
Prof. M. P. Singh, Director, AIT, Gurgaon

Keynote address:
Prof. V. Parmar, Department of Chemistry,
University of Delhi, Delhi
"Novel Nanospheric materials for encapsulation of drugs"

10.30 – 11 a.m.

High Tea

Session I:
Chairperson: Prof. P.K.Yadav

11 - 11.30 a.m.

Prof. Prasenjit Sen (School of Physical Sciences, JNU)
Electro – exploded metal nanoparticles : some properties and applications

11.30 – 12 p.m.

Prof. Himadri Bohidar (School of Physical Sciences, JNU)
Encapsulation and Release Kinetics of protein synthesis inhibitor drug Cycloheximide from Gelatin nanoparticles

12 - 12.30 p.m.

Dr. Tanuja Mohanty (School of Physical Sciences, JNU)
Semiconducting metal oxides nanoparticles and their application as bio-sensors

12.30 - 1.00 p.m.

Dr. Aditya Mittal (Biochemical and Biotechnology, IIT Delhi)
Biological Nanosystems: Peeking into the “Small” Living World

Lunch Break: 1.00 to 2.00 p.m. (University Cafeteria)

Session II: Chairperson: Prof. Harpal Singh

2 - 2.30 p.m.

Prof. Rajiv Saxena (School of Life Sciences, JNU)
Interactions of nanoparticles with lung epithelial cells

2.30 - 3.00 p.m.

Dr. S.P.Singh (National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi)
Nanomaterials for biosensor applications

3.00 - 3.30 p.m.

Dr. Najam Shakil (Agricultural Chemicals, IARI, New Delhi)
Use of nanoparticles in pesticide delivery system

3.30 - 4.00 p.m.

Dr. Amulya Panda (NII, New Delhi)
Immunogenicity of polymeric nanoparticles

4.00 - 4.30 p.m. Tea Break
Session III: Chairperson: Dr. S. P. Singh

4.30 - 5.00 p.m.

Prof. P.K. Yadava (School of Life Sciences, JNU)
Subviral and attenuated viral assemblies as promising nanovehicles for RNA delivery

5.00 - 5.30 p.m.

Prof. Harpal Singh (Center for Biomedical Engineering, IIT Delhi)
"Synthesis and Characterization of Quaternary Ammonium Functionalized Dendrimers and Copolymers for Antimicrobial Applications"

5.30 - 6.00 p.m.

Dr. Ajay Saxena (School of Life Sciences, JNU)
Crystal structure analysis of Transporter Associated with Antigen Processing (TAP) Protein

6.00 - 6.30 p.m.

Dr. Ravi Kumar Ranade (Nuclear Science Centre, New Delhi)
Evolution of magnetic nano & micro pillars of ferrites using swift heavy ion irraditaion

6.30 p.m.

Vote of Thanks
Dr. Atul Kumar Johri (School of Life Sciences, JNU)

7.00 p.m. Dinner (University Cafeteria, JNU)


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: