Brief Introduction of Different Awards in Various Fields

This article describes about the different types of awards in different fields of expertise.

Arjuna Award: The Arjuna Award was instituted in 1961 as the highest national recognition for outstanding performance in sports and games in the Olympics ,Asian Games, Commonwealth Games, World cup, World Championship and Cricket.
Only international level performance of sportspersons will be taken into account when deciding the awards.

Dronacharya Award: It was instituted in 1985 to honour eminent coaches.Every award is given a cash prize of Rs. 2.50 lakhs.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award: It was instituted in 1991-92 by the government of India to honour individual sportsperson or a sports team giving the most spectacular and outstanding performance .

Bhart Ratna : It was established by the President of India ,in 2nd january 1954.It
is India's highest civilian award ,awarded for the highest degrees of national service .This service includes artistic,literary scientific achievements and recognition of public service of the highest order. The Bharat Ratna was suspended from 19 july 1977 to 26 january 1980.

Padma Vibhushan: It is the second highest civilian honour of India is given for exceptional and distinguished service in any field including services rendered by government servants. It was established on the january 2,1954 by the president of India. It was suspended from july 13,1977 to january 26,1980.

Padma Bhushan: It is a decoration established on 2 january 1954 by the president of India . It is the third highest civilian awards is given for distinguished service of high order in any field including services rendered by the government

PADMA SHRI: This is an award given by the government of India generally to Indian citizens to recognize their distinguished contribution in various spheres of activity including the Arts, Education ,Industry,Literature, Science,Sports,Social Service and public life. The words "Padna " and "shri" in Devanagari ,appear above and below the lotus flower.

Nobel Prize: The Nobel Prize was established by 1895 by a Swedish Chemist Alfred Nobel .It was first awarded in Physics,Chemistry,Physiology or Medicine , Literature and peace in 1901.An associated prize,The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel was instituted by Sweden,s central Bank in 1968 and first awarded in 1969.

Jawaharlal Nehru Award: Jawaharlal Nehru Award for International Understanding is an international award presented by the Government of India founded in 1965. This award is presented for their outstanding contribution to the promotion of international understanding .goodwill and friendship among peoples of the World .The money for this award is 2.5 million rupees .

Pulitzer prize : The Pulitzer Prize is an american award established by Joseph Pulitzer and regraded as the highest national honour in Newspaper journalism ,literary achievements and musical composition .It is administered by Columbia University in New York City.

Man Booker Prize : The Man Booker Prize for fiction also known in short as the Booker Prize . It is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original full-length novel,written in English Language by a citizen of either the Commonwealth of Nations or Ireland.
The most recent recipient of the Booker Prize is Indian author Aravind Adiga ,for his debut novel The White Tiger.

Dadasaheb Phalke Award: The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is one of the highest honours which is presented by the Indian Government at the annual National Film Awards to an artist who has over the years made a significant contribution to the field of Cinema in his/her field.It was instituted in 1969 the birth centenary year of Dadasaheb Phalke, the father of Indian Cinema.

Vyas Samman : The Vyas Samman is a literary award in India ,first awarded in 1991.It is awarded annually by the K.K Birla Foundation and includes a cash payment of Rs. 2.5 lakh.

KALIDAS SAMMAN: The Kalidas Samman is a prestigious arts award presented annually by the government of Madhya Pradesh .the award is named after Kalidasa ,a renowned Classical Sanskrit writer, widely regraded as the greatest poet and dramatist in the Sanskrit language. It was first awarded in 1980. It was awarded in the fields of Classical Music, Classical Dance, Theatre and Plastic Arts. the award is presented for outstanding achievement in one of the four categories.

PARAM VIR CHAKRA : This is the highest gallantry award for officers and other enlisted personnel of all military branches of India for the Highest degree of valour in the presence of the enemy. it was introduced on 26th january 1950.
Param Vir Chakra means 'Wheel of the Ultimate Brave'. In Sanskrit 'Param' means Ultimate ,'Vir' means Brave ,'Chakra' means Wheel.
The Param Vir Chakra is the equivalent award of the Medal of Honour in the United States ,and the Victoria Cross in the United Kingdom.

ASHOK CHAKRA Award :The Ashok Chakra series of awards are open to civilians also.Recommendations received in respect of civilians from the State Government/Union territory adminstration and Ministries/ Department of Central Government.It is awarded for valor, courageous action or self-sacrifice away from the battlefield . These Awards are biannual and are given on the Republic day and Independence day.

Shaurya Chakra : This is awarded for gallantry other than in the face of the enemy .This award may be granted to civilians or to military personnel.

Jeevan Raksha Padak Series of Awards: The Jeevan Raksha Padak Series of awards are given for courage and promptitude under circumstances of great danger to a life or bodily injury of the rescuer ,displayed in an act or a series of acts of human nature , in saving life from drowning ,fire, rescue operation in mines etc.
Recommendations for Jeevan Raksha Padak Series of awards are received from state government /Union government /Union Territory .Administration and Ministries.

Jnanpith Award: The country's highest literary award The Jnanpith award is given to any Indian writer for his or her outstanding contribution (in any of the 22 languages mentioned in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution ) to creative writing in a specified period of 15 years. It was instituted in 22 May 1961.The total prize money for this scheme is Rs. 2.5 lakhs.

Thank you



Guest Author: vamsee09 Jun 2012

Good thinking to provide the list of awards for various fields. It will helpful to all the people who are preparing for competitive exams

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: