Resources » Articles/Knowledge Sharing » General

What is a PIN code in India?

Updated: Category: General
Author: Member Level: GoldPoints: 10

Are you looking in short information about PIN codes in India? Check this article to quickly know about India Pincodes.

PIN Code means Postal Index number. It is used to identify the location of a place in India uniquely and mainly used to deliver mail to that place.

PIN Code is a 6 digit number which was introduced in August 15, 1972.

How the pincode uniquely identifies a location?

The first digit identifies the PIN Zone. There are 8 PIN Zones, 1 to 8.
The second digit identifies the sub-region.
The Third digit identifies the district.
The last 3 digits identifies individual post office.

Let's take an example here.
My Pin Code is 560029.
5 - For Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka
6 - Karnataka
0 - Bangalore
026 - DRC POst Office

Thus a PIN code uniquely identifies a particular Post office or location.


Did you like this resource? Share it with your friends and show your love!

Responses to "What is a PIN code in India?"
Author: DR.N.V.SRINIVASA RAO.,M.Sc.,Ph.D  27 Nov 2009   Member Level: Gold   Points : 2
In India we call it as PIN. Some other countries also having the same system and they call it as ZIP code.

The concept has mede the letter saggregation system and letter delivery system much better.Earlier letters are getting misrouted and not getting delivered at all. If there are two places with same name that to with in the same state lot of confusion. Letter marked to KURADA has been sent to KHURDA road.

But with the system of pin codes this problem has been almost avoided. So everybody should remember to write the PIN code without fail..

Indiastudychanel's system of pincode search is a very good concept.


Author: Michael  28 Nov 2009   Member Level: Gold   Points : 2
What is PIN CODE??????
A Postal Index Number or PIN or Pincode is the post office numbering or post code system used by India Post the Indian postal administration. PIN stands for Postal Index Number and the code is 6 digits long. The PIN was introduced on August 15, 1972.

There are nine PIN zones in India, including eight regional zones and one functional zone. The first digit of the PIN code indicates the region in which a given post office falls in. The second digit indicates the sub-region, and the third digit indicates the sorting district within the region. The final three digits are assigned to individual post offices.
The nine PIN zones cover the Indian states and union territories as follows:
1 - Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir(including Pakistan-administered Kashmir), Chandigarh
2 - Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand
3 - Rajasthan, Gujarat, Daman and Diu, Dadra & Nagar Haveli
4 - Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Chattisgarh
5 - Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka
6 - Tamilnadu, Kerala, Pondicherry
7 - Orissa, West Bengal, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, Meghalaya, Andaman & Nicobar Islands
8 - Bihar, Jharkhand
9 - Army Post office (APO) and Field Post office(FPO)

Thank you,


Post Comment:

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name:   Sign In to fill automatically.
    Email: (Will not be published, but required to validate comment)

    Type the numbers and letters shown on the left.

    Submit Article     Return to Article Index
    Awards & Gifts
    Active Members
    TodayLast 7 Daysmore...

    ISC Technologies, Kochi - India. © All Rights Reserved.