Courses » Civil Service »

Are you looking for admissions or like to know how to register for various civil service examinations including IAS, IPS and IFS? Check out the course details for civil service related courses.

The IAS (Indian Administrative Service) is the top-ranking administrative civil service of the Government of India. IAS tops administrative positions when the 24 civil services like IPS, IFS is considered on the hierarchical basis. The Civil Services Examinations are conducted annually by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). IAS is one of the three All India Services and its staff is generally employed by the State Government, Union Government and public-sector undertakings.

How to apply for IAS in India

Indian Administrative Service (IAS) is considered as one of the prestigious services among the 24 government services including IPS, IFS (Indian Foreign Service), IFS (Forest), IRTS, IRAS, IRPS, CAPF-AF and ITS to name a few. The examinations for these civil service posts will be conducted by UPSC for selecting the most deserving and suitable candidates for the jobs. Every year lakhs of candidates appear for this examination, try their luck and hard work to get selected for one of these posts. Those who got selected into the Civil service cadre will be employed for various job roles like sub-collector, chief secretary, head of public sector units, cabinet secretary etc.

The IAS officers will also be employed on deputation outside India as part of various inter-governmental organizations like the World Bank (WB), the United Nations(UN), the International Monetary Fund (IMF), Asian Development Bank (ADB) and other similar organisations. Unlike other entrance or competitive exams, civil service exams are not that easy to crack. For that, the candidate needs to have a thorough understanding of the exam requirements and patterns followed by the UPSC. Before registering for civil service exams, the aspirants need to know the eligibility criteria, application procedure, exam pattern, syllabus and other details related to the exam. With the growing number of civil service aspirants, the number of coaching institutes is also increasing day by day to train the candidates.

Search for Courses:

Click on a course name below to find the branches available under the course category. You can find the list of colleges and universities offering the selected courses.

Roles and Responsibilities of an IAS officer

The IAS is a very venerable job which, demands a great deal of respect and responsibility. An IAS officer is supposed to be physically and mentally fit to handle all the work without giving in.
Given below are the roles and responsibilities of an IAS officer

  • Handle affairs of the government that involve policy framing and implementation in consultation with the concerned Minister.

  • Travel to various sites and supervise whether the policies are properly implemented.
  • Supervision on disbursement of funds for various policies framed.

  • Accountable to the State Legislature and the Parliament in case of any breach while on duty.

  • The IAS officers will be employed at the sub-divisional level to administer the law and order and other developmental programs in the region assigned to them.

  • At the district level, an IAS officer handles the district affairs, including the implementation of developmental programs.

  • Through deputation, the IAS officers may serve in different offices of the State and Central Government.

  • Based on the seniority, the IAS officers at the Centre serve several positions such as Directors, Cabinet Secretaries, Deputy Secretaries and Under Secretaries, Secretaries/Additional Secretaries, Joint Secretaries etc.
  • At the Central administration level, the IAS officers play a crucial role in framing and various policies related to finance and administration of a particular region.

  • IAS officers serve different posts such as joint secretary, deputy secretary at the central level during the policy framing and implementation giving their valuable inputs.

Eligibility Criteria to Join IAS

Given below are the eligibility criteria for aspirants to apply for Indian civil service examination:

  • Candidate must be a citizen of India.
  • or
  • Candidate must be a subject of Nepal or a subject of Bhutan.

  • Candidate must be a Tibetan Refugee who relocated to India before January 1, 1962, to permanently settle in India.

  • Candidate must be a person of Indian Origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Ethiopia, Kenya, Myanmar, Malawi, Tanzania, Vietnam, Uganda, Zaire, or Zambia for permanently settling in India.

Educational Qualification for Civil Service

The Civil Services exam applicant is expected to meet the following educational criteria:

  • Candidate must possess a Bachelor's Degree from any of the recognized universities. Those who have appeared for the qualification examination and are awaiting results are eligible for the IAS preliminary examination.

  • Candidates who are yet to appear for the qualification examination are also agreeable to attend the prelims. Those candidates have to present the proof of passing the stated examination along with the application for the Main Examination.

  • Candidates who have passed the final year of MBBS or any Medical Examination but haven't completed the internship can also attend the Main Examination. Nevertheless, they must produce a certificate from their University stating that they have passed the final professional medical examination.

  • Candidates with a Government recognised professional and technical qualifications or its equivalent are also eligible to apply.

Age Limit to Apply for IAS

A candidate appearing for civil service exam in 2019 should be minimum of 21 years and maximum 32 years old as on August 01, 2019. However, the person must have been born not earlier than August 02, 1987 and not later than August 01, 1998.

  • For General Category, the upper age limit is 32 years and 7 attempts are possible.

  • For Other Backward Castes (OBC), the upper age limit is 32 years with 3 years of relaxation, that is 35 years, and they have 9 attempts

  • For Scheduled Caste & Scheduled Tribe Candidates (SC/ST), the upper age limit is 32 years with 5 years relaxation, that is 37 years and have no limits up to 37 years.

  • Physically handicapped people in general and OBC category have 9 attempts, while unlimited for SC/ST.