You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Central Government

    What is the difference between the three Padma awards?

    Searching for information about Padma awards? Find suggestions from experts on this page.

    I would like to know the difference between the three Padma awards given in India: Padma Shri, Padma Bhushan and Padma Vibushan. Every year during Republic day, these awards are given to people who perform exemplary work in various fields. What is the significance of each award? When was the first Padma award given? Are all three Padma awards started together?
  • Answers

    3 Answers found.
  • The difference of these three awards is:
    Padma Vibhusan- it is the second highest civilian award in India, awarded, recognizing a person on their exceptional and distinguished service to the nation in any field.
    Padma Bhushan -it is the Third highest civilian ward in India, awarded, recognizing a person on their distinguished service of a high order of a citizen in a specific field.
    Padma Shri - it is the Fourth highest civilian award in India, awarded, recognizing a person on their distinguished service in any field.

    All these awards consist of a bronze medallion with a lotus in the front between the words 'Padma Vibhushan/Bhushan/Shri written in devangari and the Indian emblem on the back.

    These awards are provided to person involved in disciplines/ fields of activities such as visual arts, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc.

    Yes, All three Padma awards were started together and they instituted first in 2 January of 1954.

    Some times peace is better than being Right!!!

  • Government of India of has started to give Padma awards in 1954. Padma awards has three categories and initially they were named as Pahela Varg, Dusra Varg and Tisra Varg and later it was renamed as Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri through presidential notification in 1955. These awards are announced by Central Government of India during Republic day. Awards will be presented in March / Apr by President of India and published in Gazette of India on the same day. Total number of awards per year should not be exceed 120.

    Padma Vibhushan has highest rank among three and it is given for exceptional and distinguished service. Padma Bhusan is the next one and it is given for distinguished service of a high order. Padma Shri is given for distinguished service.

    Any citizen of India irrespective of occpation, race, sex, position are eligible for Padma awards. Government servants who are working in PSUs except scientists and doctors are not eligible for Padma Awards.

    Prime Minister will consititute Padma Awards Committee every year and will be headed by Cabinet Secretary. This committee will submit their recomandations to PM and President for approval.

    People who served in the following fields will be considered for this honour.
    1. Arts - Music, Photography, Cinema, Painting, Sculpture, etc
    2. Science & Engineering - Information Technology, Nuclear Science, Space Engineering, R&D in Science & its allied subjects
    3. Social Work - Social Service, contribution in community projects, charitable service
    4. Public Affairs - Public Life, Law, Politics
    5. Literature & Education - Teaching, Journalism, Literature, Poetry, Promotion of literacy, Book composing, Promotion of education
    6. Trade & Industry - Management, Promotion of Tourism, Economic Activities, Banking,Business
    7. Civil Service - Excellence in administration by Government Servants
    8. Medicine - Medical research, Homeopathy, distinction/specialization in Ayurveda, Allopathy, Naturopathy, Sidhha
    9. Sports - Athletics, popular Sports, promotion of sports, Adventure, Yoga
    10. Others - Fields which are not covered above


  • Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award given by Government of India.
    Next to that comes the Padma awards namely Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri i that order of hierarchy respectively.

    Padama awards were originated as a single name Padam Vibhushan and categorised into three hierachial level of order viz, Pahela Varg, Dusra Varg and Tisra Varg (or first class,second class and third class) . It was from 1955 that these became Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri in the same order of hierarchy.

    These awards are conferred every year and announced on Republic Day.

    Padma Vibhushan is given to a person who has rendered exceptional and distinguished service. This includes service rendered by government servants also.

    Padma Bhushan comes next in hierarchial,order to Padma Vibhushan. It is awarded to distinguished service of a high order to the nation in any field.

    Padma Shri comes next to Padma Bhushan in the three Padma awards. It is given to distinguished service-contribution to the nation in any field including sports, arts, literature, social service, education, medicine etc and other fields. It is also given to non-Indian citizens also if they have made distinguishing contribution to the nation.

    In the award list it is given under which field the person is awarded.

  • Sign In to post your comments