You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: General

How did you learn to write and speak good English?

Dear Members,
    We are Indians. We are divided by state and languages. We have our own languages known as Mother tongue. English is a foreign language. It is the language of British people. That language rules us. We are forced to learn English. English is a must for work and communication.

How did we ISCians learn good English to post messages; respond thread;, write good articles etc? Did you learn English at home or from your KG or primary school or college or from any private institution or from your work place or on your own initiative and interest?

Please narrate your English learning sincerely.
    I was a student of a Bengali medium school. Frankly speaking, even today, I can't speak English fluently. But somehow I am capable of expressing myself clearly. Moreover, I remain very conscious to minimize the mistakes while speaking. I also know very well that I speak English with a heavy Bengali accent.
    Beware! I question everything and everybody.

English is not my mother tongue. So, I had to learn from the school classes. In my case I started going to school late. I joined first in the Second form, which is equivalent to present Seventh standard. So I was introduced to English then only. Until that I was studying at my home, with the help of some teachers of a neighbouring school, who were staying with us. English was first introduced by these teachers. Of course, writing was given importance.
    Since the school I joined was a Malayalam medium one, English was used only in the Language class. Hence talking in English was started at the degree class only. My English Teacher was a bit rough and had to concentrate in the usage of correct English. Spelling and grammar were given much attention by the teacher. We students were much afraid of him. All these helped me to concentrate in the Language.