You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

Career or marriage- what should be the priority for educated girls?

What should be the priority for educated girls- career or marriage? If they are to be married soon after completing their education, why should they be given so much of education? Shouldn't they be allowed to make a career for themselves? Will marriage be a hindrance to their career? So many related questions come up in our mind. Let us discuss the topic with all its ifs and buts in this thread.

Hi all, it has been a long time, but then life is unpredictable.

I have been working with a firm for the last 6 months after my post graduation and every month I keep on hearing news of my classmates getting married (especially girls). All of them are in their early 20's young, energetic and capable of giving something back to the economy, society or country. But their parents or in many cases they themselves are eager to be married off or get married.

I simply fail to see the point in this. If you want your daughter to be married off at such a young age, then what was the point in educating her so much? Now many people will argue that young women can work after marriage, and that is true in a small percentage of cases. Most of the cases what generally happens is that the husband will be working in some other state or country, the newlyweds celebrate their honeymoon and the husband goes back to work while the wife stays behind.

And in the cases where the women accompany the husband to find work, they will never be able to dedicate enough time and effort to the work that they are doing for them to build a career out of it. The simple reason is that she will always have the domestic chores to take care of and after giving birth to a child, everything becomes much more complicated.