You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

Does improved infrastructure ensure better education?

I got my first Post-Graduation degree from the University of Calcutta. At that time, the University had three main campuses for Post-Graduation and higher studies, viz., College Street Campus, Rajabazar Science College Campus and Ballygunj Science College Campus. Although I studied in Ballygunj Science College Campus, I used to visit the other two campuses as well. The infrastructure was not good. There was space crunch, the libraries had very few books, the canteens used to provide sub-standard food, the classrooms were not maintained properly.

During my student days, I also completed some short-term courses from Jadavpur University. In that University also, the infrastructure was more or less same.

Yesterday, I went to the main campus of a new University located in Delhi with my brother. I am very much impressed by the infrastructure of this University. The campus is wi-fi enabled, the libraries contain many books, there are two beautiful lawns with colourful flowers. The central canteen provides quality food at a low price. In addition, there are many food kiosks and stationery marts inside the campus. The classrooms are in excellent condition. The hostels inside the campus look impressive from outside. Handsome boys and beautiful girls are roaming together everywhere in the campus.

But I was thinking something different. Does this highly improved and modern infrastructure ensure better education? Will the students of this university surpass the name and fame of the alumni of the old University of Calcutta?

I hope they do.