You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

Am I the only one who couldn't see the Geminid shower

This month on 13th midnight to 14th dawn we the residents of Earth were given a beautiful opportunity to witness a meteor shower. It would have been a really beautiful scene with atleast 150 "shooting stars" per minute. The designated time to watch was 12 AM to 2 AM. But the rains in Hyderabad, maybe because of the cyclonic winds in Bay, stopped me from witnessing this beauty. I was so disappointed. But I was further disappointed to note that not many in ISC mentioned about the showers or posted their experience. Was no one able to witness it?
    Few people have the hobby of amateur Astronomy. That is one reason that it did not reflect here. Anyway, it is good that you brought out this issue here so that I am also able to contribute.

I had this hobby earlier and being a Physics student I could pursue it also though now it is discontinued for quite some time.

Just for the knowledge sake, I want to mention that universe is very big, beyond our imagination.

In our mythological scriptures it is well mentioned that God is infinite and there are things about him which are also infinite, same holds true for the universe.

There are innumerable number of galaxies where a lot of activities are going on like explosions of huge stars and new stars are being formed while some older ones are turning into red giants or simply vaporising in the space. Even black holes might be forming in the process.

All these strange and mysterious activities going on in the universe give rise to spectacular phenomenons as mentioned by the author in this thread. A lot of electromagnetic energy is radiated in space during these processes and some of that is in the visible spectrum and we can observe that from the Earth.