You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

"Where do you see yourself in five years?"

This is a very common question that candidates appearing for interviews face in HR interview. And quite often their answers dont satisfy HRs. Unfortunately I am in my fourth year of engineering and am appearing for interviews. Yesterday I was thrown with this question too. I am a very creative person but I am also desperate to settle. So I didn't venture too much and answered "In a managerial position in your firm". Which is a pretty cliche' answer. No one wishes for demotion. People always aim higher and this is their go to answer often. Since we have experienced members here on ISC; who have all been working for years, I want to hear their answers to this age old question.
    This is a very common question HR will ask the person attending the interview. There is no correct answer or wrong answer to this question as far as I am concerned. So the answer given by you is very apt and nothing wrong in this. Everybody will have some aspirations. You have shown your desire to go up in the ladder.
    Once I have also faced the same question. My answer is this. I want to join your company and work for the company in such a way that my bosses will get satisfied with my abilities and give me enough chance to grow up. So within the next 5 years, I am visualising myself as a General Manager of this company. I don't know whether they have liked my answer or not. But I got the job and joined there as a Manager and after 3 years I was promoted as General Manager of the company.
    This is my personal experience. Probably these questions may be useful to know about the candidate's interest in work and his ambitions.

drrao
    always confident