You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

What are the differences in daily routine meals preaparation in different parts of India?

In south India a variety of dishes are usually prepared in every meal. For normal daily occasions in a meal cooked rice, Toordal made item, a curry made with different vegetables, a chutney also made with different vegetables or coconut, Sambar or Rasam, papad, curd etc. So it takes a lot of time to prepare all these items daily. I have little knowledge with regard to details of the meals prepared on routine daily basis in different other parts of India. So I wish to know members from different regions of India to give details about the meals prepared daily in a routine way only.
    Being a housewife, I have to manage this area and we have a typical North Indian cum western food pattern in our house. In breakfast we usually have bread/ cornflakes/ parotha/ fruits/ milk etc. In lunch we have Chapati, Rice/ Pulao, Dal, Vegetable, salad, and pickles. Sometime we would add Raita/ Curd also in lunch. In evening, we would have tea and some readymade snacks or sometimes home made bhajia etc. Then during dinner we would have Chapati/ Parotha, dry vegetable, vegetable curry etc. Sometimes in place of curry we would go for dal also. This is the usual pattern but once a fortnight or so we would plan for idli/dosha or chinese noodles or pasta or chokha-bati also.
    Thoughts exchanged is knowledge gained.

Any type of cuisine has variety. Those who are familiar wit different cuisine and recipes wil try different items.
    In our home we try both the North and South Indian items.
    It all depends on the avaialbility of time and materials.
    Gujarati items ned a lot of time and prparation, but in the end they are very much relished. Comparatively most items in common South Indian meu are relatively easy and needing only few ingredients.