You must Sign In to post a response.
This thread is the winner of the Thread of the Week contest for the week 07th to 13th June '20.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

"I don't know" is a doorway to possibilities.

A simple sentence "I don't know" used so loosely, has such an important meaning, when observed closely. For me, when I say "I don't know", it means, I have no knowledge of something and this realization opens a doorway to learning new things, its a gateway to a new opportunity, a new opinion, a new dimension, a new possibility, a new skill. Its a never ending doorway.

Although, this will depend upon individual to individual, as saying "I don't know" and actually meaning it is totally different. An individual can use this for his benefit and that can be either positive or negative.

An individual can use this sentence to deny helping other, for example in office a colleague may not help other colleague by saying "I don't know" how this is done. Alternatively, an honest person actually means to say that he does not know something, then, he will strive to learn something new when the opportunity strikes.

A conscious person who does not know something, will use the opportunity of learning something new, but, an unconscious person will think of short term benefit and may deny helping other and self by deliberately saying "I don't know" something.

What do members make out of this sentence "I don't know" and have they ever faced a situation where the negative thing proved to be a new learning opportunity.
    A good thought by the author. True. We can easily say, I don't know. But if we are really serious to convert the above sentence as I know we have to spend some time. But when we don't have that interest to learn the new aspects we will never take that sentence seriously. We will just say it and forget it.
    Sometimes I have seen some people who are not interested in helping the other person will simply say I don't know, even though he knows the issue well.