You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

Dealing with COVID-19 without fear – 1: don’t follow the herd

At home we've faced a challenging time since the last two weeks, with two of our closest relatives diagnosed with Covid and undergoing treatment in a hospital. Based on what we've gone through, I thought it would be good to share some useful information that may be beneficial to you. Accordingly, I will be sharing, through a series of threads, various aspects of the virus, with supporting articles wherever relevant. Keep in mind that the relatives are senior citizens (76 and 81 respectively) and the information I give later about medication and the form of treatment will be dependent on the age, health and other factors of the patient. Besides, I'm not a medical professional or go-to person for medical advice. I am only giving general information based on what we experienced. Hence, an informed decision should be taken in consultation with the Doctors who are treating the patient.

First and foremost, let me say that it is normal to be fearful of the virus, but it is not ok to the point of panic and following the herd, namely doing what everyone is doing. You need to stay calm, not let your thoughts go into overdrive about whether you need to do this, that, and the other, following zillions of advice given by every Tom, Dick and Harry, not to mention Uncle Google. When in doubt, consult an expert medical professional, and not do self-medication.

There is, first of all, this whole obsession about strengthening your immunity. We've had forum discussions on this, and some of you have mentioned branded products in the market, drinking concoctions, taking Vitamin tablets, etc.

Please read-
    https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/hyderabad/docs-warn-against-excessive-use-of-herbal-concoctions/articleshow/78482316.cms

https://www.timesnownews.com/health/article/vitamins-are-vital-experts-warn-against-hypervitaminosis/640631