You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: General

Did you ever think of our exam pattern?

Are exam patterns such that students get encouraged to avoid studying the entire syllabus and, instead, focus on it in bits and pieces? Share your academic experiences in studying a particular subject or subjects.

I am a busy woman who has to take care of the family and I have a two year old child. I also work as a teacher in a private school. I am pursuing my Master's degree from IGNOU. In this busy schedule, I hardly get time for my studies. So I try to follow all the shortcuts to get through the exam. Here, let me explain to you my exam pattern.

For a subject like British novels, I have to study about eight novels and I will be asked eight questions, one each from these novels. I have to attempt any five questions which carry 20 marks each. So if I only learn the five of the easiest ones from my syllabus, I can simply get the maximum marks. I think almost all the exams are following a similar choice-based exam pattern. The question is, after my education, if I want work as a JL, then with this incomplete knowledge will I be able to do justice to my job?

Not only me, but almost all students do this during their education. They give it a name, 'smart work', instead of hard work that is put in by studying the full subject. Is this fair? Are we gaining full knowledge? Are the post graduates or graduates really aiming to be complete graduates with this half knowledge? Do we need a change in the exam pattern too?

Please share your opinions regarding this.
    Sorry, there is a spelling mistake here. I am not getting option to edit my message.