You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

Selective limited tourism can open up

The entire tourism industry has suffered a massive blow. The employees of lodges and the hotel's who have lost their jobs are helpless. We do hear some horror stories on social media as well.

Wherever the infection is well under control, why not open up tourism in a limited way? The hotels can be sanitized, social distancing can still be enforced and the buses can possibly ply to the bare minimum extent. Yet, there can be some economic activity. If there are good examples of limited tourism already in operation, please do share such vital information. Perhaps we can write to the authorities to open up a little more to ensure that the economic engine does not stop at all.
    The suggestion that given by the author has already been implemented by some state governments. I don't know how appropriate it is going to be or not, but now tourism is being opened up. I am a resident of Madhya Pradesh and recently it has been decided that all the national parks in the state will be opened for tourists from June 1, for now, the date has been set from June 1 to June 30 only, it may extend as per the situation. Madhya Pradesh has always been very famous for its national parks and sanctuaries and due to being a major attraction for tourists, they also contribute to the state's revenue. Although the announcement clearly states that this tourism program will be started only after following all the corona protocols, but still tourists should take responsibility for their safety. Tourism is not more valuable than life, we should keep this in mind.