You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: General

Importance of practical education in the class

I am a teacher (assistant professor) in an engineering college and have experience in handling a class of 60 students. What I gradually observed is that the moment you miss the connectivity of a subject by practical examples or subject's importance in the class or during the lecture, the student does not respond to the question asked by the teacher or they completely miss the track. Being a teacher one has to be very diligent to make sure that you are relating the subject and topic with real-life examples or practicals. Ultimately engineering is all about implementation. Since 2009, I am observing many new teachers are lacking this ability and they fail to handle the class. This creates a vicious cycle and ultimately the subject and subject teachers are of no more interest to the entire class.
    The auther has presented this post very honestly in a transparent manner. It is very true that in some classes there is no good communication between the teacher and student just because the teacher is not able to give a satisfactory practical explanation of the theory which he is trying to teach to the students.
    Educationists have realised this thing and now they are trying to create syllabus and school/college courses based on practical considerations. Until unless there are practical considerations the skill level of the students will not increase. If skill level does not increase then students will be a failure in their future career and lives.
    We have to design courses which are a combination of academic courses and technical courses something like amalgamating a class 11 and 12 course with ITI training. Then only we can get a skilled student as the outcome of this new process.

Knowledge is power.