You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: General

What are the criteria to choose a teacher?

Should only an academic qualification define a teacher? People who are not having a formal qualification as a teacher can also tutor students is the basis of this academic discussion.

It may be a big deal, I do not know. A few incidents that I have observed earlier and a recent incident prompted me to look for an answer.

I know a person who is quite educated and has a good concept of a specific branch of science. He helped his son to score high marks in all the science subjects and also provided free tuition to a couple of friends of his son in those subjects. They all understood well and showed interest for a couple of months but suddenly one by one they stopped coming to take tuition. On inquiry, it was found that their parents showed less interest in the coaching of that person since the person is not a teacher by profession and engaged in a different job. He was teaching just as a passion and also thought of making it a regular affair for a specific period early in the morning because of his otherwise busy schedule.

Earlier also I heard that there is a hesitation among parents to send their children for tuition to persons other than teachers. They think teachers engaged in schools/colleges know how to score marks and can guide students on what is important for exams. I think this thought process again proves that our education seems to be all about scoring marks and studying things important for exams only. Are there no other criteria to choose a teacher for school/college students?