You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

Why our country name India is more popular than Bharat or Hindustan?

Anywhere we see our country name whether in Indian media or foreign media India is more popular than Bharat or Hindustan. Is it because even in constitution also our country name is mentioned as India first and later Bharat is used? Is the word India was first introduced by British? Why the Indian words are not become popular? Do you think calling our country name as India or Bharat good? According to me calling our country name as India is simple and beautiful. What is your opinion?
    My mother tongue is Telugu. I feel happy to use the words that are mentioned in my mother tongue as much as possible. But Telugu speaking people only can understand if I talk in Telugu only. So to become more familiar with other people I started learning English and Hindi. Now I speak more in English rather than my mother tongue. Here necessity made me learn.
    The same is the case with the name of the country. My country is BHARATHA DESAM in my mother tongue. I love to call it that way. But many people will not understand this and they feel very difficult to pronounce that also. So Britishers made this country India. This word is very catchy and easy to pronounce also. That is why all foreigners prefer to call it India only. We also getting accustomed to that word. It is the simpleness in pronunciation and writing that made the name India popular more than Bharath. Whatever one may call it, the important aspect is to love our own country and one should be a patriot. As long as you will not forget that you can call the country in any way you like.

drrao
    always confident