You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

A tricky issue disturbs me on this Women's Day

Unfortunately, I could not study history during my student days. I studied the subject up to Xth standard, but could not go to much depth. I learnt the important questions by heart and somehow managed to clear the subject. Consequently, I can't analyse the historical events from a proper perspective.

On this Women's Day, I was thinking about the emancipation of women in India. After the dark medieval age, the emancipation of women started at the beginning of the nineteenth century. It coincided with the Second Bengali Renaissance. Raja Rammohan Roy forced William Bentinck to abolish the custom of Sati. In another two decades or so, Eeshwarchandra Sharma (Vidyasagar) initiated the remarriage of widows. Women's movement got a fillip.

During the entire nineteenth century, Indian women got the first ray of light thanks to some great renaissance men.

From the above, can we infer that women were unable to fight for their own rights? Is it true that men had to fight on their behalf?

This is the tricky question that disturbs me today.

Members, kindly clarify this confusing issue.

{Edited}
    Women of today are very different from women of the olden era. The majority of Indian women are not only educated but also hold high positions in various companies. Therefore, they are strong enough to defend themselves and do not need anybody's support to be their mouthpiece.