You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Miscellaneous

Do Mathematics graduates have far better analytical skills?

I have a living example in my razor sharp wife, a Mathematics graduate. She is always too smart on the small details. She does have a memory that is far in excess of mine. While I have an MSW degree and an MBA degree, her interests are totally different from mine.

She is not alone. My observation of a few more Mathematics graduates does indicate that they have razor sharp memories and also very shrewd in observing things. There is one line of thought that they do not, as a rule, have very creative minds, as their thinking is highly structured. In fact, the engineering graduates, who study Mathematics at an advanced level, do have the same kind of structured thinking.

What is the reality? Is it true that Mathematics graduates have some common characteristics that others do not have? Or is it just one of their abilities?
    Mathematics offers us opportunities to think rationally so that the ultimate results are obtained. Whatever method you adopt, the results are same irrespective of the different approach. This offers us tremendous opportunities to think the ways how solutions can be worked out by employing the already existing deductions. The aspirants practising Mathematics ultimately attain mind possessing super intelligence. Their approach in the different issues would be entirely different from others because of their strong passions in Mathematics. Engineers are not the exceptions in terms of quality since they too are the lovers of advanced Mathematics and they have the habits of thinking deeply while dealing with the different problems.