Belgaum district, Karnataka

» My India » States » Districts »

Add your district or city to our database and earn revenue from Advertisements !
If your district/city/village is not listed in our database, you may add it now and optionally become a local editor for your district. Add your district now or learn more about revenue sharing.

Belgaum District (Karnataka)

Posted Date: 12 Jan 2009      Posted By: Tony John    Member Level: Diamond  Points: 0

Local Representative for Belgaum district

State: Karnataka
Collectorate Office:
Telephone Number:

Taluks in Belgaum district:

  • Athani
  • Saundatti
  • Chikodi
  • Belgaum
  • Gokak
  • Hukeri
  • Raibag
  • Bailhongal
  • Khanapur
  • Ramdurg

  • Don't find a taluk in this district ? Add Taluk and earn revenue.

    Updates & Comments:

    Posted By: Latha Jayaprakash    Posted Date: 18 Aug 2009   
    Belgaum is a District in the state of Karnataka with the town Belgaum as its administrative headquarters and also the Divisional Head quarter of North Karnataka . This area is about 2,500 ft above sea level has an area of 12,000 square kilometers.

    Belgaum District has been divided into 10 talukas. Chikkodi taluka is the largest with an area of 1,995.70 km² and Raybag taluka is the smallest with an area of 958.8 km² and comprises three revenue sub-divisions and six police sub-divisions.There are 17 municipalities, 20 towns, 485 gram panchayats, 1,138 habitated villages and 26 non-habitated villages.
    The district is bounded by Maharashtra on the north and west, Bijapur District on the northeast , Bagalkot District on the east, Gadag District on the southeast , Dharawad District and Uttara Kannada districts on the south and on the southwest by the state of Goa.
    Kannada and Marathi are the two main languages spoken in the area but has about three fourths of marathi speaking people in the district. The population of Belgaum district is 4,214,505.

    History of Belgaum
    Venugrama, meaning Bamboo Village was the old name of Belgaum, it has also called as Malnad Pradesh.
    Halsi is supposed to be the most ancient place in the district and according to the inscriptions on copper plates discovered in the region it was once the capital of a dynasty of nine Kadamba kings, like Chalukyas, Rashtrakutas, Rattas, Kadambas of Goa etc In 1818 the area was handed over to the British East India Company who later divided the southern part as Dharwar and the north as Belgaum.
    Rani Chennamma of Kittur (1778-1829) and Sangolli Rayanna are the two persons known for their resistance to the British Rule who came from this area.
    Belgaum has been known in different names even in the recent times, Kannada people call it Belgaavi, Marathi people as Belgao and the rest of India as Belgaum.

    Tourist attractions Of Belgaum District
    Panchalingeshwara temple, Hooli is well known for its architecture. At present it is a protected monument and comes under Archeological Survey of India. This temple even though it is made of stone, is exceptionally cool even in the scorching sun of summer.

    Hooli, a village, in the district of Belgaum has many ancient temples which need renovation and restoration. They are Andhakeshwara Temple, Bhavnisankara Temple, Kalmeshwara Temple, Kashi Vishwanatha Temple, Madaneshwara Temple, Suryanarayan Temple, Tarkeshwara Temple, Hooli sangameshwar ajjanavaru and Beerdevar temple Hooli.

    Saundatti is another tourist town of Belgaum also called as Sugandavarti and Savadatti. Saundatti has many anient temples and a fort. Saundatti fort was built by Sirasangi Desai with 8 bastions and has a Kadasiddheshwara temple inside the fort, surrounded by four bastions. There is a row of beautiful carvings and some paintings of geometrical patterns in the inner chajja of the prakara.

    Kamala Narayana Temple, Degaon ( Degamve / Devgram ) is situated at about 5 kms from Kittur, 10 km from Halasi and 24 km from Bailhongal. This temple is known for its Kadamba style Kamala Narayana temple and with rich antiquity. This temple has been named after the Kadamba Queen Kamala Devi in the 12th Century.

    All technical and engineering colleges in the Karnataka State come under Visveswaraiah Technological University which is located in Belgaum. Airmen Training School, an Indian Air Force training centre located at Sambra in the Belgaum District.
    Maratha Light Infantry has its regimental headquarters as well as the Commando School and School of jungle warfare and the Indian Army is also situated in Belgaum. Military School Belgaum is one of the five military schools in India
    Indian Institute of Hydrology and Vaccine Institute is also situated as also one of the research centres of Medical council of India.

    Looking for University or College admissions in India for 2022 - 2023 Academic Year?

    Top Contributors
    TodayLast 7 Daysmore...

    Awards & Gifts

    Online Members

    SpiderWorks Technologies Pvt Ltd, Kochi - India. © All Rights Reserved.