IPL 4 schedule and online ticket booking

IPL season 4 is scheduled to start from 8th April 2011. It would be a series of 74 matches. This article gives a brief description of the history of IPL, IPL 4 schedule and the procedure for online ticket booking.

What is IPL?

IPL is the abbreviation for Indian Premier League. It is a series of 20- 20 matches played in India.
The team consists of players from different countries. Currently there 10 teams participating with players from cricket teams of different countries. It was started by the BCCI(Board of Control for Cricket in India) in the year 2008, headquartered in Mumbai.
According to the salary reviews by global sports after NBA, IPL is the highest paid league. The average salary of the players in IPL is around 3.84 million dollars.

History of previous IPLs

As far as now 3 sessions of IPL have held and the fourth one is coming up in 2011.

The Ist Season of IPL

IPL started from 18th April 2008. The tournament had a total of 59 matches and it lasted for 46 days. All the teams played in a round robin fashion. The top four teams that entered the semifinals were Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Daredevils, Kings XI Punjab and Chennai Super Kings. The first semifinal was on 30th May 2008 between Delhi Daredevils and Rajasthan Royals. The second one was between Kings XI Punjab and Chennai Super Kings and was held on 31st May 2008. The finals took place on 1st June 2008 between Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings at DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai. The winners were Rajasthan Royals.
Awards for IPL 1:
The following awards were distributed for the inaugural season of IPl:
Player of Tournament was given to Shane Watson.
Player of Final match was been given to Yusuf Pathan.
Top Wicket taking bowler was given to Sohail Tanvir.
Leading run scorer was been given to Shaun Marsh.
M.S Dhoni(from Chennai Super Kings) got special award for fair play.

The IInd Season of IPL

The second season of IPL was scheduled to start from the mid of April 2009 but unfortunately it coincided with the Indian general elections. Hence for the sake of security of the players the tournament took place in South Africa. It started from 18th April 2009 and ended on 24th May 2009. The first semifinal was on 22nd May 2009 between Delhi Daredevils and Deccan Chargers and the 2nd semifinal was on 23rd May 2009 between Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore. The teams that entered finals were Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Daredevils, of which Delhi Daredevils emerged out as the winners.
Awards Given during IPL 2:
Adam Gilchrist received the award for the player of the tournament.
Anil Kumble received the award for the player of the finals.
U-23 success was been given to Rohit Sharma.
Yuvraj Singh and Rohit Sharma got awards for Hat Tricks.

The IIIrd Season of IPL

The 3rd season of IPL i.e. IPL 3 was played from 12th March 2010 till 25th April 2010. The venue for the tournament was India. Four teams entered the semifinals out of which the first one to win was Mumbai India who defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore. The second won was won by Chennai Super Kings over Deccan Chargers. The finals took place on 25th April in which Chennai Super Kings defeated Mumbai Indians by 22 runs.
Awards for IPL 3:
Player of the tournament was Sachin Tendulkar.
Purple Cap i.e Top Wicket taking bowler went to Pragyan Ojha.
Orange Cap i.e. Leading run scorer was given to Sachin Tendulkar.

About IPL 4

IPL 4 would be the 4th season of the IPL tournaments. IPL 4 would be hosted in India and the opening ceremony would be in Chepauk Stadium, Chennai. The tournament will start from 8th April 2011 and would last till 28th May 2011. There would be 74 matches and 10 teams playing in the tournament which would be divided into 2 groups of 5 teams each. Each team will be playing 14 games. The tournament would be in a double round robin fashion and if there is a tie in any of the matches, a super over would be provided to determine the winners.

Teams participating in IPL 4

We would witness the addition of 2 new teams in this season :
1.Pune Worriers and
2.Kochi Tuskers Kerala

The teams in group A and group B are:
Group A :
•Deccan Chargers
•Delhi Daredevils
•Kings XI Punjab
•Mumbai Indians
•Pune Worriers

Group B:
•Royal Challengers Bangalore
•Chennai Super Kings
•Rajasthan Royals
•Kolkata Knight Riders
•Kochi Tuskers Kerela

The players in each of the teams have been selected by bidding and they are as follows:
IPL players

Highest Bid players in IPL 4

The ten most expensive players of the 4th session of IPL tournament are:
1.The left handed opening batsman of our Indian team Gautam Gambhir is the most expensive player for this season of IPL. He was auctioned for a 2.4 million dollars by Kolkata Knight Riders.
2.The second one was Robin Uthappa who has been purchased by Pune Worriers for 2.1 million dollars.
3.Yusuf Pathan for 2.1 million dollars.
4.Rohit Sharma – 2 million dollars
5.Irfan Pathan for 1.9 million dollars.
6.Yuvraj Singh for $1.8 million.
7.Saurabh Tiwary for 1.6 million dollars
8.Mahela Jayawardene - $1.5 million
9.David Hussey – 1.4 million dollars
10.Dale Steyn – 1.3 million dollars

IPL 4 Schedule

The schedule and the venues for the matches in IPL 4 are as follows:
ipl schedule

Tickets for the IPL 4 and its price:

The tickets for the IPL matches can be bought either at the counter or online.
For online booking of IPL Tickets you need to visit the official partnering websites that are as follows:
1. KyaZoonga.com
2. BookmyShow.com or
3. Ticketgenie.in
The tickets can be booked either by selecting the venue of the match or according to the playing teams.

For information on IPL 4 matches in Indore please visit : Book Tickets for IPL 4 matches in Indore

Book your tickets now.
Corporate and bulk ticket booking are also available.

Reference: http://www.ipltickets.net/

Related Articles

IPL Opening Ceremony of 2011

This article deals with the opening ceremony of the Indian Premier League Season Four (IPL-4). The article has been described item wise in the same order as it took place on the stage. It was the personal appearance of Shah Rukh Khan on the stage which made the ceremony lively.

Indian Premier League 6 (IPL 6) 2013- Schedules and latest grasps

DLF IPL 6 is coming soon, live in stadium and on Sony Max at homes. Here is an article about the schedules, ticket booking and latest grasps from IPL 6 2013. This article also contains a short review of 1-5 IPLs played in last 5 years. This article is relates "Indian Premier League 6 (IPL 6) 2013- Schedules and latest gasps".

IPL 4 2011 cricket teams and schedule

April 8, 2011 is going to be the date of commencement of hilarious game event IPL 4 in India. The three previous sessions had given enough joy to the lovers of cricket worldwide.

More articles: IPL IV 2011 Ipl Ipl Online Ticket Booking


  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: