Kerala 2011 Assembly Elections prediction and political analysis

Will the LDF retain power in the 2011 Kerala Assembly polls? Will UDF form the Govt. in the State of Kerala? This article attempts to answer these questions by giving a possible prediction of the 2011 Kerala Assembly Election results and a list of possible Ministers in the Cabinet of the new Govt.

Presently CPI (M) leader V.S.Achunathanandan is the Chief Minister of Kerala, at the head of the Left Democratic Front (LDF) Govt. The LDF has long since been a major political power at the helm, led by the Communist Party of India (Marxist). It occupies 99 seats in the Kerala State Legislative Assembly and, besides the CPI (M) has 6 other parties in its coalition. In the 2011 Kerala Assembly Elections, the CPI (M) is contesting for 93 seats, the CPI for 27 seats and the other coalition partners of LDF have been given about 19-20 seats combined.

The United Democratic Front (UDF) is very confident of a win in the 2011 Kerala Assembly Elections. The Congress has had to give up some of their seats and issue poll tickets to its partners in the coalition. In 2009, it had contested for 78 seats out of the 140 total number of seats and bagged 49. At that time, the CPI (M) had won 91 seats but this time around most political analysts feel that it is going to be a cakewalk for the Congress and its allies.

V.S.Achunathanandan has been in the forefront of the LDF campaign and has made many critical remarks about the Congress party, his most famous one being labeling Rahul Gandhi as an "Amul baby"! Well, throwing barbs and mud-slinging is very much part and parcel of any political campaign, but it remains to be seen how effective (or ineffective) it will be when the results are declared.

140 seats are up for grabs in the 2011 Kerala Assembly Elections. Who will win? Check it out: 2011 Kerala Assembly Elections Results

Possible List of Council of Ministers in Kerala Govt. 2011

The UDF had made it clear that if they win the 2011 Kerala Assembly Elections, the CM's post would be given to Oomen Chandy. As for the Cabinet of Ministers, the Congress has got on board no less than 10 other parties to form the coalition. Hence, they will definitely need to consider including winning candidates from the coalition parties when deciding who will be in the Council of Ministers.

So here's a possible list of names of the Council of Ministers in Oomen Chandy's cabinet:

Chief Minister: Oomen Chandy

Council of Ministers:
1. A. K. Antony

2. Vayalar Ravi

3. Ramesh Chennithala

4. C. Moinkutty

5. T. Ahamed Kabeer

6. P. K. Kunhalikutty

7. Shibu Baby John

8. P. K. Jayalakshmi

9. Shafi Parambil

10. Hibi Eden

11. P. C. Vishnunath

12. K. M. Mani

13. T. M. Jacob

14. T.N. Prathapan

15. Thomas Unniyadan

16. P. Ubaidulla

17. M. K. Muneer

18. M. K. Premnath

19. A. P. Abdullakutty

Article by Vandana
Vandana is based in India with over 15 years experience as a freelance writer. Writing, no doubt, is her primary passion! Having learned the art of blogging from ISC, Vandana is enjoying the thrills of blogging, taking pleasure in sharing information & getting good pageviews at her various blogs.

Follow Vandana or read 1507 articles authored by Vandana

Related Articles

A Comparative Study Of Uttar Pradesh Assembly Election Results Of 2012 And 2007

This article provides a clear comparative study of the Uttarpradesh assembly election results 2012 and the results of the same election 2007. This study also reveals certain factors responsible for the victory of Samajwadi party in 2012 and in the same way it also shows the factors responsible for the defeat of BSP and other national parties.

Reasons of Illegal Funding in Elections

The main reason normal person is not able to participate in elections is the procurement of a huge sum of money to stand in elections. A middle class person is not able to collect so much money or procure a loan so that he can manage to even stand in the municipal elections.

Kerala Gods Own Country- Tourist's Heaven

As you know Kerala is known as gods own country and have lot of place to visit. The main tourist attraction of this place is .The state have 14 districts and each districts have lot of place to visit. Mainly back water lakes, hills,rivers and traditional art forms are attracting the people. This article is giving about the tourist spots in south Kerala.

West Bengal Assembly Election Analysis and Prediction 2011

After 35 years of Left Front's rule of West Bengal, the 2011 assembly election is expected to bring about a much-needed change. Will the public pulse stand with Mamta Banerjee and the Trinamool Congress? Will the politics of Bengal enter a new phase with Mamta Banerjee emerging as Bengal's first ever Chief Minister? Read on.

The predicted ministers for TamilNadu Government 2011

The ministers name who can take the minister post in upcoming TamilNadu Government 2011. Its only assumption, not the final list. This assumption list prepared based on the assumption of winning party in this election. From the analysis, its expecting ADMK will win this election, so the ministers list only applicable if ADMK win. Please be patient for election result and Official word from the party who is winning in the TamilNadu election-2011.

More articles: Assembly Election Prediction 2011 Elections Election Kerala


Author: Nitheesh (Lucky)24 Apr 2011 Member Level: Diamond   Points : 0

Vandana ma'm,
I don't think that our Defence Minister A.K. Antony will be included in the council.

Author: Vandana24 Apr 2011 Member Level: Platinum   Points : 1

Nitheesh, you are right. However, since this article is for the prediction contest, it would not be right to change it if somebody points out an error like you have so helpfully done. That would be cheating. So I won't delete A.K.Antony's name.

Author: Nandana25 Apr 2011 Member Level: Gold   Points : 1

Yes Ms.Vandana, I agree with Nitheesh. Infact, both A.K.Antony and Vayalar Ravi, who are central ministers had not contested in the 2011 Kerala Assembly elections. Besides, Shri A.K.Antony, Shri.Vayalar Ravi and Shri.Oommen Chandy are of the same seniority in politics. Hence, they can hold only the post of Chief Minister.

Author: Vandana27 Apr 2011 Member Level: Platinum   Points : 1

@ Lijo: you have to post your prediction as an article in the Resources section & then post the URL link of your article in the Resource thread of Jose Sir (see Forum announcement for this contest). Do not post your predictions as a response to my article or to any other member's similar article.

Author: Dr.P.Ramachandran30 Apr 2011 Member Level: Silver   Points : 1

Predictions are always good. Chennithala will not be included in council of ministers. Ooman chandi and chennithala will fight against each other for becoming CM. This will lead to another change in UDF. K.M Mani is better than both of them.

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: