Online tickets booking for Mumbai to Nizammudin Delhi new Rajdhani Express train

Want to book train tickets for the new Rajdhani Express train from Mumbai to Delhi & back? This article gives details of the new Rajdhani Express train route, station halts, ticket price, time table and features. Learn, too, how to book the tickets online.

Within six months of the launch of India's first semi-high speed fully air-conditioned train, the Mumbai to Goa Tejas Express train, comes the announcement of a special train being run on the Delhi-Mumbai route.

Northern Railway will begin operating this month the new Special Rajdhani Express train from Hazrat Nizammudin, Delhi to Bandra Terminus, Mumbai. The tri-weekly train will be super fast, cutting down the journey time by two hours as compared to the current Mumbai to Delhi Rajdhani train. While the existing Rajdhani is a 17-hours journey, the new one will be under 14 hours. The new Special Rajdhani Express will run both ways between Mumbai and Delhi.

New Rajdhani Express launch advt
[Image taken by author from print advt. in Hindustan Times, 14th Oct. 2017, page 13]

The inaugural run of the train is schedule for 16th October 2017 and will initially run for three months, up to 16th January 2018.

Special features of the train

  1. No flexi fare will be levied on booking of the ticket for this train.
  2. You will be saved around two hours of the train journey time as compared to the present Mumbai Rajdhani train. This is due to the fact that the train will be hauled by two locomotives for better acceleration, deceleration and higher speed.
  3. Not only will you save time, but the timings of the train arrival at its destination is such that you will arrive in Mumbai / Delhi before the regular rush hours.
  4. You can save on the ticket fare if you do not opt for the catering service as per the existing menu.

Train Tariff

  1. Second AC: Rs. 3,270/-. The current Mumbai-Delhi Rajdhani route has a maximum flexi-fare of Rs.4,105/-.
  2. Third AC: Rs. 2,325/-. The current Mumbai-Delhi Rajdhani route has a maximum flexi-fare of Rs.2,925/-.

Time Table of inaugural run

Date: 16th October 2017
  • Train no.: 04006
  • Departure: 16.15hrs. from H. Nizamuddin (NZM is the abbreviated form of the station)
  • Arrival: 06.10hrs. at Bandra Terminus, Mumbai (BDTZ is the abbreviated form of the station)
  • Halts: There will be a halt of five minutes at each of the following stations -
    1. Kota: 20.43hrs. to 20.48hrs.
    2. Vodadara: 00.45hrs to 00.50hrs.
    3. Surat: 02.25hrs. to 02.30hrs.

Time Table of regular run from Delhi to Mumbai

Starting from: 18th October 2017
  • Train No.: 09004 (NZM BDTS RAJ SPL)
  • Days of the week: Wednesday, Friday and Sunday
  • Departure: 16.15hrs. from H. Nizamuddin station
  • Arrival: 06.10hrs at Bandra Terminus, Mumbai on Thursday, Saturday, Monday
  • Halts: There will be a halt of five minutes at each of the following stations -
    1. Kota, 20.43 to 20.48hrs.
    2. Vadodara: 00.45 to 00.50hrs.
    3. Surat: 2.25 to 02.30hrs.
Accommodation : First AC, 2 Tier AC and 3 Tier AC

Time Table of regular run from Mumbai to Delhi

Starting from: 17th October 2017
  • Train No.: 09003 (BDTS NZM RAJ SPL)
  • Days of the week: Wednesday, Friday, Sunday
  • Departure: 16.05hrs, Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday
  • Arrival: 06.00 hours at H. Nizamuddin, Wednesday, Friday and Sunday
  • Halts: There will be a halt of five minutes at each of the following stations -
    1. Surat: 18.55 to 19.00hrs.
    2. Vadodara: 20.25hrs. to 20.30hrs.
    3. Kota: 01.44hrs. to 01.49hrs.
Accommodation : First AC, 2 Tier AC and 3 Tier AC

How to book tickets ?

First check the schedule and seat availability at the Indian Railways Trains Enquiry website.

Ticket booking can be done online at the IRCTC website. Open an account with IRCTC and simply log in and book your tickets at: IRCTC e-Ticketing website. Tickets can also be booked at all Passenger Reservation System (PRS) locations.

Make sure to carry your original photo ID proof on your journey.

Northern Railway website:

Article by Vandana
Vandana is based in India with over 15 years experience as a freelance writer. Writing, no doubt, is her primary passion! Having learned the art of blogging from ISC, Vandana is enjoying the thrills of blogging, taking pleasure in sharing information & getting good pageviews at her various blogs.

Follow Vandana or read 1336 articles authored by Vandana

Related Articles

MBA - most coveted career in management

Here is detailed descriptions about the MBA admissions and various programs related this course. Here you will get detailed information about the specializations, difference and also how MBA career will affect your life.

Online tickets booking for Central Railway 2017 Diwali special trains from Mumbai

Want to book Central Railway tickets online for special trains from Mumbai for the Diwali festive season? This article gives details of the list of Central Railway trains between Mumbai and Gorakhpur, Manduadih, Karmali and Sawantwadi. The train numbers, departure and arrival times and schedules are provided for your quick reference.

Admission 2013 for MBA in NIT, Durgapur

The National Institute of Technology, Durgapur has issued a notification regarding admission to MBA course 2013. In this article I have given information regarding the eligibility criteria, admission procedure important dates and fee structure.

Top MBA specializations to choose from 2011

In this resource you will find information about the all time favourite MBA specilizations that students choose. You will also get to know what are the new specializations for MBA and how you can get a combined MBA degree. Read on to know more.

More articles: Mumbai Delhi Trains AI AI AI MBA Delhi Assured Train Tickets Special Trains Train Ticket Booking


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: