Colleges offering admission to CSBS, a TCS designed B.Tech program

Are you looking for a Computer Engineering course that is designed keeping in mind the requirements of the industry? You can enrol for Computer Science & Business Systems (CSBS), a course that is designed by TCS and approved by AICTE as a B.Tech program. Learn more about the course and the colleges offering an opportunity to study CSBS. Admission to this course is based on the merit of JEE (Main) and state-level JEEs.

About the course

The demand for Computer Engineers is growing all over the world and the organizations look for skilled engineers who have a grasp over the implementation of the technologies having theoretical and practical efficiencies. We are living in a digital world and the technologies are changing rapidly. In this scenario, the focus is on courses that cater to the demand of the present industry. Rather than completing a B.Tech program on Computer Science and Engineering (CSE) and opting for a few certification and management courses to become industry ready students now have a chance to opt for a course that offers both these advantages. Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) partnering with the top academicians in India has designed an undergraduate program of four years and named it Computer Science and Business Systems (CSBS). The focus of this course is not only on Computer Science but also on business management and on how to develop human values. This program is approved by AICTE and offered as a B.Tech course in various institutes across the country. At first, this B.Tech course was offered by 3 institutes from the academic year 2018-19 and till the current academic year 2020-21, a total of 54 institutes is offering this course.

An engineering graduate should be aware of the following aspects and that's why the course focuses more on:

  • Understanding of Contemporary Technology

  • Understanding of Technology Abstraction

  • Knowledge of Common Business Principles

  • Business Discipline and Service Orientation

  • Innovation Ability

  • Strong in Ethics and Life Values

Speciality of CSBS

The main difference between AICTE approved syllabus of the prevailing Computer Science and Engineering (CSE) and the new Computer Science and Business Systems (CSBS) is the focus on core subjects. In the prevailing syllabus, B.Tech students of every branch need to study many common papers in their first year and from the second year onwards they get to study the core papers related to their branch. In this new CSBS program, many such common papers are completely left out and students begin to learn the core papers from the first year itself. Two such subjects are Chemistry & Engineering Graphics. CSBS students won't have to study Chemistry and Engineering Graphics and the elective subjects offered in CSBS focus on papers like Machine Learning, IoT, Cloud Computing, etc which are industry-specific and currently on demand.

Support of TCS for the students

Since this course is designed by TCS, there will be an MoU with the colleges offering the course and accordingly, TCS will provide support to the students based on the duration of the MoU. This MoU can always be renewed upon agreement between the two parties. The following supports are provided by TCS:

  • 10-30% of the students pursuing this course are offered an internship by TCS. This internship may be paid or free

  • For some industry-specific subjects, TCS will arrange lecture sessions by the industry experts

  • For some papers, students will be assessed by TCS

Institutes offering B.Tech program in CSBS

  1. Bharati Vidyapeeth Deemed University College of Engineering, Pune

  2. Sister Nivedita University, Kolkata

  3. Sri Krishna College of Engineering & Technology, Coimbatore

  4. Vellore Institute of Technology (VIT) University, Vellore

  5. Bannari Amman Institute of Technology, Sathyamangalam

  6. Thapar Institute of Engineering and Technology, Patiala

  7. Rajalakshmi Engineering College, Chennai

  8. Medicaps University, Indore

  9. Shri Vaishnav Vidyapeeth Vishwavidyalaya, Indore

  10. GITAM Institute of Technology, Visakhapatnam

  11. GITAM School of Technology, Hyderabad

  12. GITAM School of Technology, Bengaluru

  13. JSPM's Rajarshi Shahu College of Engineering, Pune

  14. Mukesh Patel School of Technology Management & Engineering (MPSTME), NMIMS Mumbai Campus

  15. JSS Science & Technology University, Mysore

  16. Techno India University, Salt Lake

  17. SRM Institute of Science and Technology, Kattankulathur

  18. SRM Institute of Science & Technology, Ramapuram

  19. SRM Institute of Science & Technology, Vadapalani

  20. SRM Institute of Science & Technology, NCR – Modinagar

  21. SRM University, Sonepat, Haryana

  22. SRM University, Amaravati, AP

  23. M Kumarasamy College of Engineering, Karur

  24. Shanmugha Arts, Science, Technology & Research Academy (SASTRA), Thanjavur

  25. VNR Vignana Jyothi Institute of Engineering & Technology, Hyderabad

  26. RVR & JC College of Engineering, Guntur

  27. Chandigarh University, Mohali

  28. School of Technology Management and Engineering (STME), NMIMS Navi Mumbai Campus

  29. School of Technology Management and Engineering (STME), NMIMS Indore Campus

  30. Bharati Vidyapeeth Deemed University College of Engineering, Navi Mumbai

  31. Sri Manakula Vinayagar Engineering College, Puducherry

  32. Sri Sai Ram Engineering College, Chennai

  33. Thiagarajar College of Engineering, Madurai

  34. RMK Engineering College, Gummidipoondi

  35. RMD Engineering College, Gummidipoondi

  36. JECRC University, Jaipur Rajasthan

  37. Noida Institute of Engineering & Technology, Greater Noida

  38. Vellore Institute of Technology (VIT), Amravati

  39. Vishnu Institute of Technology, Bhimavaram

  40. G Pulla Reddy Engineering College (GPREC), Kurnool

  41. B.V. Raju Institute of Technology, Narsapur

  42. Gokaraju Rangaraju Institute of Engineering & Technology, Hyderabad

  43. Institute of Engineering & Management (IEM), Kolkata

  44. University of Engineering & Management (UEM), Kolkata

  45. Netaji Subhash Engineering College (NSEC), Kolkata

  46. Academy of Technology, Adisaptagram

  47. Asansol Engineering College (AEC), Asansol

  48. Vellore Institute of Technology (VIT), Bhopal

  49. Ramrao Adik Institute of Technology affiliated to D Y Patil Deemed to be University

  50. Oriental Institute of Science & Technology, Bhopal

  51. School of Information Technology, RGPV Bhopal

  52. Visvesvaraya Technological University, Belagavi

  53. Sagi Ramakrishnam Raju (SRKR) Engineering College, Bhimavaram

  54. Vignan University, Guntur

Selection and Admission Criteria

Students must complete 10+2 from a recognized board and appear for JEE (Main) or state-level JEEs. Based on the merit in JEE (Main) or state-level JEEs, students are admitted to colleges offering CSBS after proper counseling.

Intake capacity

In every college, a maximum of 60 students can be enrolled for this course.

Article by Sankalan Bhattacharya
Sankalan "Life is easier when you enjoy what you do"

Follow Sankalan Bhattacharya or read 75 articles authored by Sankalan Bhattacharya


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: